Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Four Against Darkness» Forums » Rules

Subject: Defense roll rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jacob Andersson
msg tools
mbmbmb
page 20:
"Each monster has a level, a measure of how dangerous it is. The level is the number you must roll ... to defend from his attacks ..."
"Example: A goblin is level 3, so you need to roll a 3 or better to wound him, affect him with a spell, or parry his blows."

page 50:
"Defense Roll Success: If the character rolls higher than the monster’s level, or if he rolls a natural (unmodified) 6, the character takes no damage from the attack.
Defense Roll Failure: if his Defense roll is equal to or lower than the monster’s level, of if the character rolls a natural (unmodified) 1, the character takes ONE wound."

So to parry the level 3 Goblin's blow I'd need to roll a 3 or a 4?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Andersson
msg tools
mbmbmb
In the Quick Reference Sheet (p. 71) it says "If result is equal to or better than monster’s L, take no damage"
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Murphy
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Fore!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm reasonably certain they've clarified in the new edition of the rules that you must roll equal to hit but over to defend.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Martin
United States
East Lyme
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Never enough of these to go around...
badge
Never cut a deal with this guy...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can confirm Josh's post.

To successfully attack or affect monsters with a spell, you need to roll the monsters level or better.

To successfully parry a monsters attack, you need to roll better than the monsters level.

Level 3 Goblin

To attack or affect with a spell: 3 or better

To parry: 4 or better
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Shockley
United States
Seffner
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh wow... I have playing it wrong then. Makes an already challenging game even tougher!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Bookout

Colorado
msg tools
I just purchased the game, and was confused as well.
Revised 4.0 edition.

Page 53
Quote:
If the character rolls higher than the monster's level... take no damage

Page 84
Quote:
If result is equal to or better than monster's L, take no damage.


I assumed it was the harder one, thanks for clarification!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tarık Zeytinci
Turkey
flag msg tools
Which one is right? Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Bookout

Colorado
msg tools
Page 53

Quote:
If the character rolls higher than the monster's level... take no damage
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Toni
Spain
Barcelona
Barcelona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the info.

Where are the revised rules? I bought 4AD PDF from Ganesha website and has the same mistake.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.