Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: search tokens rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Attila Kovacs
Hungary
flag msg tools
Hi All,

Is it legal to pick up all remaining search tokens AFTER winning the encounter with the heroes? I guess it would be logical, they don't have to hurry, no more enemies, leaving the treasures and going home seems a stupid decision.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sadgit
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, this is not possible. The encounter immediately ends as soon as a win condition of the overlord or the heroes is fulfilled.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Burigo
Italy
Belluno
flag msg tools
designer
badge
“Don't try the paranormal until you know what's normal.” - Granny Weatherwax
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Seems logical but it's against the spirit of the rules.

The heroes must always decide if they want to invest all their actions to complete the quest or risk some actions to get more gold through the search tokens.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Painkeeper wrote:
Seems logical but it's against the spirit of the rules.

The heroes must always decide if they want to invest all their actions to complete the quest or risk some actions to get more gold through the search tokens.


Furthermore, it's only logical after certain quests. Not every encounter or quest ends with, "Yay, all the monsters are dead, let's loot some corpses!" Sometimes, it's "We saved the village/stopped the ritual/killed the big one, but we'd better book before those zombies/the disgruntled warlock/his minions decide to kill us."
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Attila Kovacs
Hungary
flag msg tools
Let me ask something else that remains unclear:
The hero's attack was not a miss but did not deal damage to the monster because attack pool and defense pool were equal. Above that the hero rolled a surge that can be converted to Burn. Weapon description (Magma Blast) does not say that rolled damage is required to trigger the ability, just a surge is needed. Does the monster get a burn token?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. It is not well documented on the cards, but has been clarified by rule question responses.

Anytime a condition (burn, poison, disease, weaken, stun, terrify, immobilize, curse, doom, bleed) is caused by a surge, it requires the attack to deal damage (hearts-shields) unless it says otherwise.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Attila Kovacs
Hungary
flag msg tools
Thanks, Paul.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Proto Persona
United States
N Richland Hills
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
datakurs wrote:
Let me ask something else that remains unclear:
The hero's attack was not a miss but did not deal damage to the monster because attack pool and defense pool were equal. Above that the hero rolled a surge that can be converted to Burn. Weapon description (Magma Blast) does not say that rolled damage is required to trigger the ability, just a surge is needed. Does the monster get a burn token?

As a clarification on this particular card Burn would not be applied because the attack dealt no damage to the target, but you could still spend the surge on Blast and possibly hurt another target.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.