Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Scenario Goal Professional - Items that don't get spent rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Likos
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The scenario goal "professional" makes you use items X times during the scenario.

Some items don't get spent when you use them, or don't do any thing when triggered... I'm thinking specifically of the Necklace of Teeth here.

Do I get a use each time I trigger it, even if I can't use the items effect.

Thanks.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Willott
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You've waded into quicksand.

This battle goal is really confusing with many items.

I think the general decision has been that a "use" is any instance of the item having an effect on game state.

Spoilery examples:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
- You use the "Cloak of Pockets" once when you bring an extra potion or 2 into battle.
- You use the "Iron Helm" every time you get hit with a critical (and it becomes 0)
- For the "Necklace of Teeth", you'd "use" it every time you kill an enemy and heal
- You use hide armor every time you move the shield counter (even if it's pierced, I think)
- You use the Invisibility Cloak when you put it on


Choose to use, obviously a use
Move the counter, obviously a use
Persistent effect - somewhat contraversial, but "use" constitutes it actually having an effect.

From the FAQ:
"What exactly is considered using an item?
Any instance of you applying the effects of an item card to a situation is considered a use."
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.