Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Coal Baron: The Great Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Why two values on the mining cards? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jean-Luc Simard
Canada
Longueuil
Québec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tried the game with a friend tonight, and there was one thing we couldn’t find an explanation for in the rules. Why are there two values in the mining cards (0/1, 1/2 and 2/3)?

There’s no penalty for not using a point, so why not just use the larger number? When would you use the 0 value?

We looked and looked, and if there is something we have missed it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Blum
United States
Wilmington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
There is no rule allowing you to not use a point.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Murr Rockstroh
United States
Fleming Island
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jaels wrote:
Tried the game with a friend tonight, and there was one thing we couldn’t find an explanation for in the rules. Why are there two values in the mining cards (0/1, 1/2 and 2/3)?

There’s no penalty for not using a point, so why not just use the larger number? When would you use the 0 value?

We looked and looked, and if there is something we have missed it.
If you can, you must use all the points on the mining card to move your lorries onto a train or into storage. There's nothing that says you can opt to not use a mining point that you can use.

The reason you may want to use the 0/1 card is go first in the next round by getting the shift token, and scoring VP's for it at the end of the game. When you do this, If you have a double lorry card sitting at the front of your line of lorries, you can't move the lorry, so you'd use 0 (zero) mining movements from the action card. That's why there is a zero on the 0/1 card, because it allows someone with a double lorry to still be able to go first/score points by taking the shift marker.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nik holliday
United Kingdom
Appin
Argyll & Bute
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Murr wrote:
Jaels wrote:
Tried the game with a friend tonight, and there was one thing we couldn’t find an explanation for in the rules. Why are there two values in the mining cards (0/1, 1/2 and 2/3)?

There’s no penalty for not using a point, so why not just use the larger number? When would you use the 0 value?

We looked and looked, and if there is something we have missed it.
If you can, you must use all the points on the mining card to move your lorries onto a train or into storage. There's nothing that says you can opt to not use a mining point that you can use.

The reason you may want to use the 0/1 card is go first in the next round by getting the shift token, and scoring VP's for it at the end of the game. When you do this, If you have a double lorry card sitting at the front of your line of lorries, you can't move the lorry, so you'd use 0 (zero) mining movements from the action card. That's why there is a zero on the 0/1 card, because it allows someone with a double lorry to still be able to go first/score points by taking the shift marker.

While this reply is accurate, I think it makes more understandable if you were to say that players must use the higher number on the card if able to do so, but can use the lower number if not.
So in the case of the 0/1 card, you must load a single lorry if there`s one at the front of the line (and a matching truck), but if not, you can use the 0 to take no action other than take the next shift token, assuming it`s available.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.