Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anton Tolman
United States
Orem
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I looked up older threads on this, but didn't see one that specifically addressed my issue. Admittedly, I am still new to the game, but when I get Destal, I groan. Yes, it is great for being able to allocate influence to key areas -- I get that. What kills me is having to take 4 influence away from other areas I am using to keep US from trying to coup or infiltrate.

So here's my question: what areas do you take influence AWAY from that make the use of this card effective? Drawing this early in the game is especially painful because I'm trying to keep US from dominating Europe and trying to spread into Asia, etc.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Kurtzhals
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Finland, non-critical Eastern European countries. Often you will have free influence from cards like Comecon, Warsaw Pact, and Romanian Abdication. Also, usually East Germany and Poland are overprotected, and the overprotecting influence can be removed (you can put it back later).
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay M
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You can backfill the places you left with ops points on future turns. Relocate into areas where you do not yet have adjacent influence. It is an opportunity to enter entirely new areas that you are currently locked out of.

Also, scoring priority. Pull from areas already scored and relocate into areas you know will be scored before a re-scoring ofthe areas that you pull from.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Patnik
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
A quick list of places to pull influence from, from best to worst choices.

- Euro non-bgs that are filled with Comecon / Warsaw / RA influence.
- the second influence point in Vietnam if VR / any countries that you over-control due to a large coup roll.