Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ranged Monster Focus Clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Colin Lim
msg tools
If a ranged monster is adjacent to what would be the main focus but not another in-range enemy, does the monster move and attack the main focus, or not move and attack the other enemy?

Follow-up: same scenario as above but the ranged monster doesn't have a move; does the monster attack the main focus enemy at disadvantage or does it target the other enemy?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
monsters (and character summons) will always focus on (and attack, if able) the enemy that is closest to them at the start of their turn. And will try to do that attack without disadvantage if possible.

so in the first example, the monster would focus on the adjacent enemy, then step back so that it could attack that enemy without disadvantage.

in the second example, it would still focus on the adjacent enemy, but since it didn't have a move, it would attack that focused-on enemy with disadvantage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JayJ79 wrote:
monsters (and character summons) will always focus on (and attack, if able) the enemy that is closest to them at the start of their turn. And will try to do that attack without disadvantage if possible.
Careful that terminology, Eugene! "Closest" in the context of determining Focus means "shortest unobstructed path to a hex from where the current attack can be used". "Closest" with the usual meaning of "most proximal" is only used as a tie-breaker for ties in "shortest path". It's picky, it's pedantic, but it makes a significant difference to your game once you realise the that the chosen Focus isn't always the "nearest character" (or even, it's not a character, but a hex).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.