Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Mythic Battles: Pantheon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacking an adjacent opponent rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Samuel Delerme
France
paris
Unspecified
flag msg tools
The rules say that, when attacking an opponent that is not in your space, you have to draw a line between the center of your space and the center of his.
The problem is that, if you do that, on some maps (Elyseum, for example), you cannot attack adjacent opponents.
The rules do not say anything specific about range 1 attacks but is seems counter-intuitive not to be able to attack an adjacent opponent.
Anyone has an (argumented) opinion about these cases?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Pemberton
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mb
If you check the attacking rules, you canattack into an adjacent area at 1 range, but you cannot draw through any other area that has blocking terrain (i.e. other miniatures, rocks or trees/ruins);

p.17, paragraph 3;

"You can attack out of an obstacle, or into an obstacle, but never through one"

Therefore, it only matters if there's a piece of intersecting terrain in between the centre point of both squares at range 1, like if you were at the edges of he Olympus map and attacking with a rock just off-centre of two squares. Does that make sense?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Samuel Delerme
France
paris
Unspecified
flag msg tools
I thought there were several areas where this was the case but, at a closer look, you're right, it's a rare occurence.
Thanks for your reply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D Conklin
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are a few places on a couple of maps where this happens...

See this thread too: Line of Sight questions

I went ahead and added this as a level 3 to the FAQ list:


3There are a few spots on a couple of maps where the shape of the areas makes it such that two adjacent areas can still have an obstacle area between them when drawing line of sight. Was this intended?
Seems yes, but concerns that RAI should be that you can always attack an adjacent area.
Line of Sight questions
Attacking an adjacent opponent
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Smith
United Kingdom
Gillingham
Kent
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Seems fine, accounts for characters hiding behind the rock or whatever, so they can't be attacked.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric S
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
you can attack an adjacent area if it is full to the max number of units...

this way even units who could not attack uphill units can do so

certainly stops units clustering on high ground
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.