Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

John Company» Forums » Rules

Subject: Professorship prize? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can someone explain exactly how this works? The phrase "eligible writer" is troublesome, and I'm not quite sure about the second half of the power speaking of conflict.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cole Wehrle
United States
St. Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
"Work as if you live in the early days of a better nation"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For reference, here's the full text of the power:

During hiring, your eligible writer must be promoted first. If conflict, neither prize cube is used.

Basically, when someone else is hiring, you can use one of your cubes on this prize to force them to hire you first. If one or more players with writers both have this ability, this power can't be used.

Note that this power doesn't save you from nepotism.

The term eligible is there to refer to a very specific case. Namely, if there are no candidates in senior offices when filling executives, this power still applies.

Make sense?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Exactly what I was looking to confirm...eligible means whenever in the RAW a writer could be promoted.

Follow ups...

If two or more players each have a cube on professor, and 2 or more have eligible writers, is the power literally negated or can one player forego their “power”, and allow the other to use professorship as intended?

How would nepotism come into this?



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cole Wehrle
United States
St. Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
"Work as if you live in the early days of a better nation"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
aram12 wrote:

If two or more players each have a cube on professor, and 2 or more have eligible writers, is the power literally negated or can one player forego their “power”, and allow the other to use professorship as intended?



Nope. It's automatic. If more than one candidate has the power, none may use it.

Quote:

How would nepotism come into this?


This is mostly an attempt to cover my bases because I've gotten other questions about the power. Basically, the professorship doesn't get you around the nepotism penalty, and I wanted to make that clear.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If more than one has the power AND an eligible writer, correct?

I asked about how nepotism would “come into this” because forcing another player to promote you over another is the exact opposite of nepotism as defined.
1 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cole Wehrle
United States
St. Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
"Work as if you live in the early days of a better nation"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
aram12 wrote:
If more than one has the power AND an eligible writer, correct?



Right.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, Cole.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Asher D.
United States
Lexington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For the nepotism part, I think what Cole was saying is that you can't use this prize's power to "force" yourself to promote your writer over others, getting you around nepotism. There is no getting around nepotism
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah. I see. As written the rule doesn’t specify “an opponent”. So you could target yourself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafał Kruczek
Poland
Legnica
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cole Wehrle wrote:
For reference, here's the full text of the power:

During hiring, your eligible writer must be promoted first. If conflict, neither prize cube is used.

Basically, when someone else is hiring, you can use one of your cubes on this prize to force them to hire you first. If one or more players with writers both have this ability, this power can't be used.

Note that this power doesn't save you from nepotism.

The term eligible is there to refer to a very specific case. Namely, if there are no candidates in senior offices when filling executives, this power still applies.

Make sense?


Does promoting forced by this ability count as fulfiling a promise?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cole Wehrle
United States
St. Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
"Work as if you live in the early days of a better nation"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rafal100 wrote:
Cole Wehrle wrote:
For reference, here's the full text of the power:

During hiring, your eligible writer must be promoted first. If conflict, neither prize cube is used.

Basically, when someone else is hiring, you can use one of your cubes on this prize to force them to hire you first. If one or more players with writers both have this ability, this power can't be used.

Note that this power doesn't save you from nepotism.

The term eligible is there to refer to a very specific case. Namely, if there are no candidates in senior offices when filling executives, this power still applies.

Make sense?


Does promoting forced by this ability count as fulfiling a promise?


No. Good question.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmm.

Using Chad-Jensen-like logic...

"You show hiring preference by promoting the player holding the promise over at least one other player."

This says nothing of choice. I would say the Promise is returned. Not sure how thematically I'd justify that, though.

Also, I'd assume that even if avoiding nepotism, a promise would be returned if the above held true.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
aram12 wrote:
Hmm.

Using Chad-Jensen-like logic...

"You show hiring preference by promoting the player holding the promise over at least one other player."

This says nothing of choice. I would say the Promise is returned. Not sure how thematically I'd justify that, though.

Also, I'd assume that even if avoiding nepotism, a promise would be returned if the above held true.


Damn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cole Wehrle
United States
St. Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
"Work as if you live in the early days of a better nation"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
FYI I've added that last answer to the official FAQ:

Quote:
If you are required to promote a writer because of the professorship prize, may you return one of that player's promises.

No. Because there was no choice in the decision, a promise is not returned. However, the player with the professorship could elect not to use it, in which case if they are promoted above another player a promise cube can be returned.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cardboard Reality
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
Can I use this in the middle of the hiring phase? Or only the beginning?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cole Wehrle
United States
St. Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
"Work as if you live in the early days of a better nation"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CardboardReality wrote:
Can I use this in the middle of the hiring phase? Or only the beginning?


Sure, they can be used for any office.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.