Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Mythic Battles: Pantheon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Terrain and Modifiers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Savage
Australia
Moonta
SA
flag msg tools
Penthesilea and Odysseus are with a full strength Hoplite unit in the open. Both heroes have “Bolster” so the Hoplites defend with a +2 modifier.

If these three units are in a wood, what is the final modifier, +2 or +3?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D Conklin
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sarpedon wrote:
Penthesilea and Odysseus are with a full strength Hoplite unit in the open. Both heroes have “Bolster” so the Hoplites defend with a +2 modifier.

If these three units are in a wood, what is the final modifier, +2 or +3?


First off, we are waiting on an official ruling on "double bolster". See "Modifer" section here: Topics for FAQ

Rules say on pg 19:
Effective offence / defence
This is the value of the unit’s stats after any applicable
modifiers have been taken into account. Modifiers
cannot reduce offence or defence below 0, or raise
them above 10.

When calculating modifiers, add up all that apply. If a
single modifier is greater than +2 or worse than -2,
then that is the maximum possible bonus/penalty.
Otherwise, the total effect cannot be worse than -2, or
greater than +2.


Also, remember the forest only gives you the +1 against any attack by a flying unit, or any attack at range 1+.

All that said, Hoplites would be +2 defense.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Strong
United States
Ocala
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The way we play it is that the +1 modifiers are from different sources. Even though two are Bolster, they are from different sources. So in our eyes, we play it as three single modifiers, so the max would be +2. Again, that’s the way we see it! 😊
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.