Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Recharge versus Grotesque Statue and nested sequence rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tomas Hejna
Czech Republic
Prague
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
https://arkhamdb.com/card/03197
https://arkhamdb.com/card/01071

I am still not 100% sure on the timing:
- there is remaining just one last charge on Statue
- I play spell Recharge on Statue
- I am using the last charge for Recharge test/resolution
- let us say I choose a number
- is the Statue gone OR with 3 new charges?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yury M
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gone immediately after you use her last charge.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomas Hejna
Czech Republic
Prague
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The thing is, triggered reaction ability from Statue should freeze all other effects until it is being resolved - shouldn't it?
Also, there are twice time 'if' effects executed and so the player might decide their order - doesn't he?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon H
United States
Orion Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You have to spend a charge from the Statue to use its ability. The moment you do that, you trigger "If Grotesque Statue has no charges, discard it". Sequences are nested (see "Nested Sequences" in the RR), so the use of the Statue is paused and the "no charges" sequence takes over, resolving completely before going back to the drawing of tokens.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomas Hejna
Czech Republic
Prague
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
.. and so the charge state precedes it.
OK, that is the key point.

Thank you.

Perhaps the other point of view might be that once the discard effect is activated, it must be resolved sooner or later and regardless of any changed conditions - i.e. it is being put on triggered queue and sits there until it is its time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.