Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Valour Action/response rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Fling
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What is, it when can a Valour Action be taken? And what expansion first introduced these rules?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C Sandifer
United States
Lutherville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can use a Valour action when your threat hits 40.

It was introduced in the Lost Realm block (Angmar Awakens). See here:

https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/c1/67...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noah Higgins
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
Seek Justice, Love Mercy, Walk Humbly With Your God
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The valour action may be taken when your threat is at 40 or above. This action is taken in place of the non-valour action on the card.

I believe the valour keyword was first released in the Angmar Awakened cycle.

Noah

ninja'd by less than a minute
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Yoder
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Angmar Awakened cycle, with the first small exp in the cycle: "The Wastes of Eriador"

Rules say...

Quote:
Valour is a new trigger that appears on some player cards in
the Angmar Awakened cycle. Actions and Responses with
the Valour trigger, presented as “Valour Action” or “Valour
Response,” can only be triggered by a player whose threat is 40
or higher.

If an event card has two effects, one with the Valour trigger
and one without, you may only choose one of these two effects
to trigger when you play the card. You may still only choose the
effect with the Valour trigger if your threat is 40 or higher.



Edit: Double ninja'd
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Gilner
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
I have a follow up question:

The rules read:
Quote:
"If an event card has two effects, one with the Valour trigger and one without, you may only choose one of these two effects
to trigger when you play the card."


So, that makes clear sense for an event card; you play the card, choose which effect, and then discard it. But what if the card stays in play, like an ally? Could a player activate both the non-valour and valour actions on the same round or even phase, so long as they are able to satisfy its costs (ie, exhausting, paying a resources, etc.), and they are technically activating the abilities two separate times?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noah Higgins
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
Seek Justice, Love Mercy, Walk Humbly With Your God
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.

For example, I can exhaust honor guard to cancel a damage to a character. Then, I ready the honor guard via Grim Resolve. I can then discard the honor guard to cancel five damage to a character.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.