Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Star Trek: Ascendancy – Borg Assimilation» Forums » General

Subject: Borg Attack Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Doug VanDerMark
United States
Solvay
New York
flag msg tools
mbmb
1 cube on the board - 4+ dice are a hit
Delta IV is considered a Level 1 System, with a warp and resource. Not if the warp token counts.

So it is basically, the Borg's 9 dice (minus any first strike losses) against the 2 dice of Delta IV, correct?

Makes sense to me cinematic-ally cool
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mattias Elfström
Sweden
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A planet rolls one die per Structure. The warp token indicating level 1 does not generate a die. In this case they defend with one die.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug VanDerMark
United States
Solvay
New York
flag msg tools
mbmb
Mattias wrote:
A planet rolls one die per Structure. The warp token indicating level 1 does not generate a die. In this case they defend with one die.



So quick death to Delta IV - not sure why I would even roll the dice shake
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mattias Elfström
Sweden
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Resistance is futile...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davon Collins
United States
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
Would this be more aesthetically pleasing if it were blue?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Has anyone ever had a system successfully defeat a cube? I don't even bother rolling unless it has three nodes and a starbase!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You do need a few extra defenses before a planet can defeat a cube;
-fully developed system with 4 or 5 total nodes.
-tech that give you extra rolls per node and/or automatic hits.
-tech that ignores 1-2 hits per turn
-cloaked orbital mines or similar that can damage a cube as it enters the system (The kind that is not worded as being a hazard, i assume then the cube cant ignore its effect).
- 1-2 weapon upgrades.

Since it will be difficult to have enough of these techs ready, most borg assimilations will be quite straightforward losses though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trueflight Silverwing
United States
Waverly
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Senatus1980 wrote:
Has anyone ever had a system successfully defeat a cube? I don't even bother rolling unless it has three nodes and a starbase!


Starbase wouldn't do anything. They are only helpful in space battles, not on planets.

Unless you meant 3 resource nodes and a Control Node.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mattias Elfström
Sweden
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ender02 wrote:
Senatus1980 wrote:
Has anyone ever had a system successfully defeat a cube? I don't even bother rolling unless it has three nodes and a starbase!


Starbase wouldn't do anything. They are only helpful in space battles, not on planets.

Unless you meant 3 resource nodes and a Control Node.

Strangely enough it has been officially ruled that they do defend against assimilation!

The Borg rules actually say "structures".

Check out 15.1.1 in the collection of answers.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.