Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Twilight Imperium: Fourth Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Yin Indoctrination and Dacxive Animator rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Neil Ault
Canada
flag msg tools
Indoctrination states that at the start of a ground combat the Yin player can spend 2 influence to replace one opposing infantry with one of their own. So, if the Yin invade a planet held by one opposing infantry, they use Indoctrination to convert it to a Yin infantry - ending up with two Yin infantry and taking the planet.

My question is, if the Yin have Daxcive Animators, does the above situation count as a ground combat "win" - thereby gaining the Yin another (third) infantry on that planet?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Jensen
United States
California
flag msg tools
Sabutai wrote:
Indoctrination states that at the start of a ground combat the Yin player can spend 2 influence to replace one opposing infantry with one of their own. So, if the Yin invade a planet held by one opposing infantry, they use Indoctrination to convert it to a Yin infantry - ending up with two Yin infantry and taking the planet.

My question is, if the Yin have Daxcive Animators, does the above situation count as a ground combat "win" - thereby gaining the Yin another (third) infantry on that planet?


The answer is yes, it does. As long as there are ground forces on a planet after space combat (as long as you chose to invade) then there will be ground combat. Furthermore, each planet counts for a separate combat when it comes to the phraseology of abilities like daxive animators, indoctrination, or technological singularity. These abilities will activate even if all infantry are eliminated by bombardment because as your dreadnaughts fire, ground combat has already begun.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Ault
Canada
flag msg tools
Excellent! Thanks for the confirmation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dsjensen19 wrote:
These abilities will activate even if all infantry are eliminated by bombardment because as your dreadnaughts fire, ground combat has already begun.

I disagree strongly with this.

Ground Combat specifically happens due to you assigning units to the planets. Bombardment happens as part of the Invasion step, but it is not included within the rules for Ground Combat in any way.

Here is the definition of Ground Combat from the RRG:
RRG - Ground Combat wrote:
38 During the “Invasion” step of a tactical action, if the active player commits ground forces to land on a planet that contains another player’s ground forces, those players resolve a ground combat on that planet.


So if Bombardment destroys the final unit on the planet, there is no Ground Combat in the system according to the rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Petersen
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Derek, while I agree the answer to the question is yes, the logic you use is incorrect. Referring to the rules reference entries 38 and 44,
Ground Combat is Step 4 of the Invasion Step. It does not occur if: all defenders are killed by Bombardment, the attacker doesn't commit units, or the attacker is destroyed by PDS.
The Yin ability triggers at the start of Step 4, so Ground Combat occurs. During Step 1 of Ground Combat, the defender has no dice to roll, then the attacker has units remaining & wins the combat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.