Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Silent Victory: U.S. Submarines in the Pacific, 1941-45» Forums » Rules

Subject: Following Convoys rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Blaschke
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
Let's assume the following situation:

1) I engage a Convoy.

2) I finish off all three ships of that convoy in the first round of combat.

Can I "follow" this convoy and get a new set of three targets if following is successful? Or is following only an option if there are targets left after the first round of combat?

My gut feeling says that Option No 1 should be correct, but I can find no confirmation of that in the rules. Connected to this question is another one. Is there a limit how often can follwo a convoy? Assuming extreme luck, I could engage a convoy, sink all three targets, follow, get a new set of targets, sink them all again, and so on, sinking six (or maybe even more) ships in one single encounter.

Is my interpretation of the rules correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Yes, your gut is correct.

If there were any damaged (i.e., not sunk) ships leftover from the previous round, then following would be automatic if you choose to pursue the damaged ship (rule 9.7.6). But if all three ships were sunk, or simply want to pursue the convoy instead, then you'd use rule 9.7.7 to determine if you successfully followed and reengaged the convoy.

But the above assumes that you either sunk, or escaped from the Escort which was escorting the first three targets!

And I don't see anything that prohibits you from continuing the "following" procedure as many times as you wish! If able, when engaging a Convoy, you can sink 3 ships + escape from the Escort, then roll for a successful following, and then repeat that cycle all over again. As many times as you wish... or can survive!


3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Barry,
Torpedoes and damage tend to be limiting factors
Greg
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Sturmer wrote:
Hey Barry,
Torpedoes and damage tend to be limiting factors
Greg

Yeah, I was sort of wrapping all of that up under my "or can survive!" comment at the very end!

But in my experience, it's been all three... escaping from the escorts, damage, and number of remaining torpedoes! But it's the escorts that I remember most!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.