Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

John Company» Forums » Rules

Subject: Nepotism question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Thatcher
United States
Lake Forest
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The situation is as follows.

I am the President of Bombay and I must fill a Provincial Office. I can promote any writer or Officer in any army to this position.

Let's say that 2 other players have cubes in the Writer box but I am the only player who has Officers in any of the three armies. If I choose to promote one of my Officers, do I still have to give a Promise cube to the other two players who had Writers even though I promoted the only Officer that I could?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yvan Sidlo
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Kevin Lee Thatcher wrote:
If I choose to promote one of my Officers, do I still have to give a Promise cube to the other two players who had Writers even though I promoted the only Officer that I could?


As I understand the rules, if the other players have eligible candidates and you promote one of your cubes you are penalized for Nepotism. The Writers are as eligible as your Officer.
2 
 Thumb up
1.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Helmer
Canada
Windsor
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As Provincial Offices may be filled by any Writer or Officer in any army - Officers do not take any special precedence. So yes, you'd have to pony up some promise cubes for your example.
4 
 Thumb up
1.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Thatcher
United States
Lake Forest
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answer. That is what I thought.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.