Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Smash Up: Munchkin» Forums » Rules

Subject: Before A Base Score rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Samuel Tan
Indonesia
Balikpapan
East Borneo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So many confusions after a session today.. This game has lots of special cards played "before a base scores".. My friend played a special card that reduced the overall powers below the base's breakpoint.. Is the base still scored or not?
Thanks..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan M
United States
Knoxville
TN
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To my mind, there are 2 aspects to actually scoring a base: breaking the base and scoring the base.

Breaking a base happens at the end of a player's turn. This happens when the total value of minions exceeds the base's limit.

Then players have the opportunity to play special cards, knowing that the base is going to give out points regardless. If you reduce the value of an opponents minions, kill some off, or move some away such that the minion score is below the value that it takes to break a base, it no longer matters because the base has broken already. The only thing that remains is to see who has the most, second most, and third most minions on the base and give them the appropriate number of points.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendon Browning
United States
COLORADO SPRINGS
Colorado
flag msg tools
Yes. After a base breaks, scoring begins. It doesn't matter what specials are played, what happens to minions, etc, the base will still score even if the new total minion power is less than the base's breakpoint.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wim D
Belgium
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jodokast4 wrote:
To my mind, there are 2 aspects to actually scoring a base: breaking the base and scoring the base.

Breaking a base happens at the end of a player's turn. This happens when the total value of minions exceeds the base's limit.

Then players have the opportunity to play special cards, knowing that the base is going to give out points regardless. If you reduce the value of an opponents minions, kill some off, or move some away such that the minion score is below the value that it takes to break a base, it no longer matters because the base has broken already. The only thing that remains is to see who has the most, second most, and third most minions on the base and give them the appropriate number of points.


Breaking a base happens during phase 3 of a turn. After that you still have the draw cards phase and the end turn phase.
(see: the phases of a turn, or this is how you roll in the rulebook)

Once a base has been chosen to break (step 2 of the scoring order list in the more recent rulebooks), it doesn't stop anymore.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.