Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Mystery Rummy: Al Capone and the Chicago Underworld» Forums » Rules

Subject: Are three layoffs a meld? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Johnson
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once you've laid three cards of a kind off, do they constitute a meld? (For purposes of playing Raid, for example.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
loudonhead wrote:
Once you've laid three cards of a kind off, do they constitute a meld? (For purposes of playing Raid, for example.)

A meld is the initial 3(+) cards to establish a color in play. Everything else on existing colors are layoffs even if there are 3 or more.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Johnson
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh! That is interesting. Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph H. Anderson
United States
Prospect
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Although the original 3+ cards that are played are by definition "the meld" that puts that plan into play, it is still an open question whether additional cards that are laid off 3+ at a time also constitute a meld and if so, if that then meets the criteria for the Raid card. Personally, I would rule that all cards player AFTER the original meld are all layoffs on that meld and so would not count for the Raid card, even though anytime you play 3+ at a time that could technically also called a meld.

We will need to wait for Mike to make an official call on this.

Dislaimer: I have been a play tester for almost all of the Mystery Rummy seriesgames and am working closely with Mike on a new game related to Mystery Rummy series to be revealed soon!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Fitzgerald
United States
Lafayette
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
As long as you have at least 3 cards of a gangster in your play area you may call that Gangster for the Raid. You then take all other layoffs etc of that Gangster on the table. It does not matter how you got those 3 cards they are still a meld. It would be very hard to track how a player got their cards over a hand so the term “meld” is referring to 3 cards in play. Hope this helps. Sorry for some confusion in the rule book, These will all be improved and redone eventually.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.