7 Posts

Santorini» Forums » General

Subject: AlphaGo -- but for Santorini rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jake Carlson
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Thought other coders and Santorini fans might enjoy this!

I built a version of DeepMind's AlphaGo Zero, but that plays Santorini. My code is open-sourced here: https://github.com/lagerros/Alpha-Santorini
It does train, but fairly slowly.

Would appreciate any feedback as this project was mostly an attempt to learn more about deep reinforcement learning, and I'm still an amateur (my background is in neuroscience).

Also, if anyone else has done similar projects, I'd love to hear!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Cool.

FWIW Stephen Tavener's generic abstract-game-playing program AiAi (based on Monte Carlo Tree Search) includes a Santorini player (which I've not tried). Might be fun or useful to compare:

http://mrraow.com/index.php/aiai-home/
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jake Carlson
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
That's cool! I'll check it out!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Van Biesbrouck
Canada
St Catharines
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
As the person who does the rules implementation for Ai Ai Santorini (and develops new stuff for Santorini), I've thought about AlphaGo and Santorini. In principal you could make the challenger selecting powers and so forth the opening moves of the game (they are!), but since the rules diverge at that point I think that the learning of the game would be degraded unless the selection of powers was limited. Evolving game play for pairs of powers would probably have superior results. Splicing together the results for many pairs of powers should result it something that plays all pairs well. (There are efficient techniques for learning which AIs to use.)