Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Four Against Darkness» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question About Wraith in Fiendish Foes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Ramsey
United States
Lexington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mb
On the Boss Table in Fiendish Foes there is a wraith, and the text states that “before the fight starts, there is a 2 in 6 chance that all lanterns are extinguished until the end of the fight.”

What effect does an extinguished lantern have on combat? What effect does it have on gameplay?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Martin
United States
East Lyme
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Never enough of these to go around...
badge
Never cut a deal with this guy...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's pretty nasty...A party that doesn't have a lantern has a -2 modifier on all Attack and Defense rolls and may not use ranged weapons! Thank goodness, if this happens, it's only until the end of the fight!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Ramsey
United States
Lexington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mb
Hi David,

Thanks. What page is that on in the core rulebook?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Martin
United States
East Lyme
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Never enough of these to go around...
badge
Never cut a deal with this guy...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No problem at all David! The answer in the core rule book (printed rule book) is on pg. 70 under Frequently Asked Questions, 2nd question and answer on that page.

Not sure what page it would be in the PDF version of it, but it is in Frequently Asked Questions, 9th question and answer in that section of the rules!

What happens to the lantern if the lantern bearer dies?

The lantern falls to the ground but it does not go off. It may be picked up by another character at the end of combat. If you want, another character may pick it up during the combat, forfeiting his chance to attack in that turn. A party without a lantern has -2 on all Attack and Defense rolls and may not use ranged weapons. The only thing that the party can do without a lantern is trace their way out of the dungeon. So if your lantern bearer dies, and the lantern is on the floor, it is not a good idea to withdraw from that encounter until one of your characters has spent one action (forfeiting one attack) to pick up the lantern.

What the Wraith has a 2 in 6 chance of doing before the fight is even worse! When all lanterns are extinguished, it's suddenly not as simple as forfeiting one character's action to pick one up/equip one. The characters are at a significant disadvantage for the rest of the fight until either they withdraw, run, or kill that Wraith! Pretty brutal!

I haven't encountered this guy yet and I hope I never do! With each character being hit by it having to make a saving roll versus level 4 magic to avoid losing one level and the limited ways there are to actually damage the Wraith, the Wraith is one super powerful adversary!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Victor J
Australia
Sydney
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One defence is to make sure that each character has a vial of holy water handy, it hits automatically.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.