Maurice Oksman
United States
Hartsdale
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Odysseus’s Subterfuge Power:
Second activation maneuveres for units in Odysseus’s area cost 0 art of war cards.

Echo’s Distraction Power:
The owner of an Enemy unit in Echo’s surroundings must discard 1 additional art of war card to activate.

So i’m a big fan of Echo, but it seems in this situation during a second activation that Odysseus’s Subterfuge not only negates the 1 art of war card needed for second activation, but also negates Echo’s Power. Since his wording specifically state ‘0’ and not ‘1 less to activate, but—then again—this could just be another syntactic error of translating French to English.

They are both Powers, so the Rules Hierarchy doesn’t clarify this issue.

What do you guys think?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Jansson
Sweden
Trollhättan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed, this one could use a ruling. As you say, at the moment it will cost 0 for the second activation because active player chooses order of power appliance.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Tolputt
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I would consider that RAI is probably that it is probably "The cost of second activation manoeuvres for units in Odysseus’s area are reduced by 1 Art of War card."

However, you are right that in parsing the RAW, it reads that the cost is "replaced" rather than "modified by one". Likely because in the majority of cases, it reads clearer as written.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Smith
United Kingdom
Gillingham
Kent
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules are clear, it's 0 cost and not -1 and active player chooses timing of powers look at it as a good counter to Echo's ability when selecting armies.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raph Moimoi
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 11 :
Resolving timing clashes
If two or more powers (or any other effects) happen
during the same step, the active player decides the
order in which they will be resolved. Each one must be
resolved entirely before the next begins.


So the active player chooses in which order to apply those effects.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christophe Fontaine
France
flag msg tools
mb
Pikaraph wrote:
Page 11 :
Resolving timing clashes
If two or more powers (or any other effects) happen
during the same step, the active player decides the
order in which they will be resolved. Each one must be
resolved entirely before the next begins.


So the active player chooses in which order to apply those effects.


Then you would have to discard an aow card no matter the order you choose the powers to resolve.
Indeed you want to activate a unit, both Ulysses and Echo' s powers get in the chain. You resolve Ulysses power, it costs you 0. Then Echo's power kicks in and you have to discard 1 aow card.
It works the other way round as well.

I see Ulysses power as a way to pay only one aow card for a second activation in Echo's presence.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Jansson
Sweden
Trollhättan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
azhagmorglum wrote:
Pikaraph wrote:
Page 11 :
Resolving timing clashes
If two or more powers (or any other effects) happen
during the same step, the active player decides the
order in which they will be resolved. Each one must be
resolved entirely before the next begins.


So the active player chooses in which order to apply those effects.


Then you would have to discard an aow card no matter the order you choose the powers to resolve.
Indeed you want to activate a unit, both Ulysses and Echo' s powers get in the chain. You resolve Ulysses power, it costs you 0. Then Echo's power kicks in and you have to discard 1 aow card.
It works the other way round as well.

I see Ulysses power as a way to pay only one aow card for a second activation in Echo's presence.


You decide to activate a second unit, it would cost 1 AoW card.
You resolve Echos power for 1 additional AoW card. Cost is now 2 AoW cards.
Odysseus power resolves and sets the cost to 0 AoW cards to activate a second unit.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.