Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Fast Forward: FEAR» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules error on how game ends? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Crawford
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From what I understand reading another thread and asking someone who has played; the game ends if you only legal move would make the sum greater than 15. This means that if you have 0-2 cards in hand, you can just draw. However, card #7, with the basic game end rules, doesn’t say anything about having 3 cards in hand to lose. It simply says that “if each card in your hand would increase the sum value above 15, after being played, you lose.” Read literally, this days that if you have 1 card in hand, and it would make the sum value above 15, then you lose.

Also, it doesn’t mention anything about when this check is made. Since the rule comes right after the rule about what to do at the end of your turn, we had first assumed that you check after your turn. Meaning that if you played a card, and the only remaining cards would increase the number past 15, then you lose.

Is this just a bad translation? A rules error or oversight? In a game where all rules are explained as you go, and designed to not be taught, it’s really bad to have a mistake like this.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This was discussed (with input from the publisher) in this thread: Question regarding game end
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Nicosia
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
SMASH!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, the way the card was worded, we (at first) thought that you lost even if you used your turn to draw a card, but then still had only cards in your hand that would make you lose if you had to play any one of them.

We quickly corrected our mistake when the first person went out this way, and we then noticed that the person who lost had to discard their hand to the box, including the played card. So yeah, this kind of clued us in that you had to actually play a card to lose.

So yeah, it could have been worded more clearly... just something like "if a card you play (after any card text or special rules) puts the total on the table over 15, you lose".

Still loved the game, though, after that small hiccough at the start. Can't wait to try more of this, and Fortress and Fear.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I understand that you lose only if you must play a card (cannot draw due to hand limit) and doing so will raise the count to above 15.

But do you actually play a card, say the count is above 15, and lose?

Or do you just say that you can't play and thus lose?

The fact that, when you lose, your entire hand goes back into the box makes me feel like it is the second case.

But I suppose that the rules do say that you discard your hand and the card you played (so you must have played it) - but the second case seems like a cleaner way to describe it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Nicosia
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
SMASH!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Either way is the same result... the same 3 cards get removed from the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.