Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Next War: Taiwan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Malaysian Air Superiority rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Cameron Moubray
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
Malaysia's MiG-29 is a medium-range unit, so it can't reach the South China Sea to fly air superiority missions. Planes can't normally intercept or escort if they aren't in the air superiority box. Malaysian units also can't base from the PRC.

So what can this plane actually do? It has no strike or support rating.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron Moubray
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
BooBoo130 wrote:
It can fly escort missions into the Spratley Islands or Celebes Sea escorting the other Malaysian air units.

Even though it isn't in the air superiority box per 22.4?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Shelton
United States
Renton
Washington
flag msg tools
CGMoubray wrote:
BooBoo130 wrote:
It can fly escort missions into the Spratley Islands or Celebes Sea escorting the other Malaysian air units.

Even though it isn't in the air superiority box per 22.4?
You are correct and it cannot, since all escorts must come the Air Superiority box.

Much like a fancy car, it can look good. This is probably an oversight, since Malaysian gets into the game very little.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mitchell Land
United States
Ballwin
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As per the Errata file, the Malaysian air units are allowed to participate in Air Superiority missions. Additionally, they should be restricted to Intercept and Escort in the Spratly Islands.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Shelton
United States
Renton
Washington
flag msg tools
That is what I get for not checking the errata first!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron Moubray
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
Toadkillerdog wrote:
As per the Errata file, the Malaysian air units are allowed to participate in Air Superiority missions. Additionally, they should be restricted to Intercept and Escort in the Spratly Islands.


Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.