Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Topiary» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can I take a tile behind a statue? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Timur Tabi
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules say that if I want to take a face-down tile, it must be in line of sight of the visitor I just placed. Does that mean that it must a tile between the visitor and the first face-up tile that I see, or can I pick up a face-down tile behind the face-up tile?

That is, if I have this layout, and this is the first move:

X X X X X
X X X X X
A B 1 C D <-- Visitor
X X X X X
X X X X X

I know I can pick up tile "C" or "D". Can I pick up "A" or "B"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin Schwartz
United States
Jackson
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
www.therulesforge.com
badge
Get your slimy, webbed phalanges off ma boots!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes — in that example, you could pick up A or B.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele P.
Italy
Cappelle Sul tavo (PE)
Pescara
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tabicat wrote:
The rules say that if I want to take a face-down tile, it must be in line of sight of the visitor I just placed. Does that mean that it must a tile between the visitor and the first face-up tile that I see, or can I pick up a face-down tile behind the face-up tile?

That is, if I have this layout, and this is the first move:

X X X X X
X X X X X
A B 1 C D <-- Visitor
X X X X X
X X X X X

I know I can pick up tile "C" or "D". Can I pick up "A" or "B"?


Yes you can, Dustin is right! ;)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Timur Tabi
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks.

I got confused because I thought that you needed to consider the statue height for the game play rules. Instead, the statue height is relevant only during scoring.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.