Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Line of sight rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Søren Hansen
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have question regarding monster Movement.
If a monster is NOT in Line-of-sight of Any characters and has a move and attack action. Does it move to get closer to a line-of-sight or stay put until in gas line-of-sight?
I get that it can’t attack but does it move towards a line-of-sight?


Awesome game!

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
Yes, it does move if there is a hex it could reach with infinite movement from which it could attack its focus. Line of sight is not needed for focus.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
finding a focus doesn't require line of sight at all.
A monster could be 3 rooms away, around 6 different corners, but as long as there is an unblocked pathway that would lead them to a spot from which they could attack (given infinite movement), they will move along that path as far as their current movement allows.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Conrad
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
Thanks. What I still do not understand:

Do they stop in turns where all spots nearby the Heroes are blocked?

Do Monster3 move, if the setting is like this? (all monsters may have just melee attacks for this example)


wallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwall
Hero Monster2 empty empty empty
Hero Monster1 empty empty empty Monster3
wallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwall
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael T.
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
civtrada wrote:
Thanks. What I still do not understand:

Do they stop in turns where all spots nearby the Heroes are blocked?

Do Monster3 move, if the setting is like this? (all monsters may have just melee attacks for this example)


wallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwall
Hero Monster2 empty empty empty
Hero Monster1 empty empty empty Monster3
wallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwallwall


no, it does not move as there is no hex available it could attack an enemy from.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.