Hans van der Drift
Australia
Bulimba
Qld
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As the title asks...

Is the African Garrison box considered a friendly port to the Carthaginian player?

Could the Carthage player retreat to the Garrison box?

Thanks

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Offen
Australia
flag msg tools
Yes
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
"It may be doubted whether so small a number of men ever employed so short a space of time with greater or more lasting effects upon the history of the world.” — Sir George Otto Trevelyan on the Battles of Trenton and Princeton
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
aoffen wrote:
Yes


It’s got a port symbol! Just pay the card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hans van der Drift
Australia
Bulimba
Qld
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dirubin wrote:
aoffen wrote:
Yes


It’s got a port symbol! Just pay the card.


No it doesn’t

Port symbols have an anchor. It just has an image of a ship.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan F
United States
Corpus Christi
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hopefully Wray weighs in
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordi Cairol
Australia
Brisbane
QLD
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is it ‘a’ port? No, it’s not (there’s no anchor symbol)
Can Carthage do naval movement to/from? Of course! (That’s why there’s a ship symbol).
But I reckon the main question in this case is if it is friendly, to allow a naval retreat after losing a battle. In a way it is friendly (as reinforcements are allowed there directly), but, on the other hand it is not for combat purposes (explicitly stated in the rules).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.