Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Multi-target attacks and advantage/disadvantage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
darhoth of darhothland
msg tools
Tried to search for a thread on this and found one, but didn't have a direct official answer or rule cite. Character cast a 3 hex multi-target ranged attack. One target is adjacent to the caster with the other 2 behind. Is the attack against the adjacent target at disadvantage and the other two targets at normal? I think this is correct because each hex is targeted and resolved separately. Our group keeps referring to these as AOE and argues that if you "target" the hex that is not adjacent initially, then the entire attack is resolved normal rather than the hex being at disadvantage. This seems wrong based on the mechanics of these types of attacks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J D
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Each hex is treated separately. If one of the hex is next to you and it is a range attack, then you get disadvantage for that hex. If the hex has 1 or more hex between you and it, then it is treated normally.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
disadvantage is determined on a target-by-target basis, not by the attack action as a whole.
if you target an adjacent enemy with a ranged attack, it is done at disadvantage. any non-adjacent enemy would be done at normal

and if, say, you use the eagle-eye goggles for the attack action, the adjacent enemy would be done normally, and the non-adjacent enemies would be done with advantage
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Steinbach
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Note that aoe attacks in Gloomhaven work distinctly different than those in similar games like Descent. In descent, one attack roll is made for the entire attack action, whereas in Gloomhaven, a separate card is drawn for each individual target.

As said, advantage and disadvantage is applied separately as applicable to each individual target.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.