Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Carcassonne: The Castle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Wall tiles and multiple completed features rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lonely Boardgamer
Lithuania
Vilnius
flag msg tools
Just got a situation, when 2 features were completed in one turn. One feature scored 4 points, other - 12 points. I had exactly 4 points to next wall tile.

Question is simple: can I score 1st feature, move to 4 points and take wall tile? Or wall tile can only be taken after you finish scoring of all completed features?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Morten K
Denmark
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
As far as I know you score one at a time in the order you prefer.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon Stewart
United States
Bowie
20715
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Morten's answer above is absolutely correct per the rules.
If there was another tile on your final landing space you could take that also.
We played that correct way and often experienced that run-away leader problem that others mention.

So our "house rule" during hundreds of exciting Carcassonne Castle games has been to
only pickup the wall tile on the last space landed on during your turn.


It's a great "end of session" game!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Franco
United States
Maplewood
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
If you could touch the alien sand and hear the cries of strange birds and watch them wheel in another sky, would that satisfy you?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
capt yid wrote:
So our "house rule" during hundreds of exciting Carcassonne Castle games has been to
only pickup the wall tile on the last space landed on during your turn.

Seems to defeat a lot of tactical scoring of small features then.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordan White
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I like the above-mentioned house rule too.

If you really want to grab that close-by wall tile, you'll have to "slow down" your scoring pace - but it's a gamble.
1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Caleb
United States
Seminole
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
serjordah wrote:
I like the above-mentioned house rule too.

If you really want to grab that close-by wall tile, you'll have to "slow down" your scoring pace - but it's a gamble.


If you aren't playing to shut other the other guy's features down and deny landing on wall tiles, you're not really playing right. IMO, no house rules needed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon Stewart
United States
Bowie
20715
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cannoneer wrote:

If you aren't playing to shut other the other guy's features down and deny landing on wall tiles, you're not really playing right. IMO, no house rules needed.


Different strokes for different folks.

Even when playing very aggressively and competitively
we don't enjoy continuing to play a game when
the winner is obvious before we're a quarter of the way through
whether we're winning or losing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lonely Boardgamer
Lithuania
Vilnius
flag msg tools
Re-read the rules again and it seems like you do it the following way:

1. Take 1st completed feature and count its score
2. Move the meeple.
3. If you landed on wall tile, take it.
4. Use wall tile (optional).
5. Take the 2nd completed feature and repeat the steps 2-4.

This indeed seems logical, because in every other game you score everything feature by feature, not summarize and then move the marker. Still in this particular case a clarification in rules would be nice.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.