Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Empires of the Void II» Forums » Rules

Subject: Setup: Starting location rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
M B
France
FONSORBES
Haute-Garonne
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules state :
Quote:
[...] each player
places their Worldship, 1 Starfarer, and 1 Star Sloop on one of the space nodes [...]


Just to be sure, this sentence means that these 3 units start from the very same space node, right ? During our first play, I read this too quick so we placed each starting unit on a different space node.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Laukat
United States
Sandy
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mickski wrote:
The rules state :
Quote:
[...] each player
places their Worldship, 1 Starfarer, and 1 Star Sloop on one of the space nodes [...]


Just to be sure, this sentence means that these 3 units start from the very same space node, right ? During our first play, I read this too quick so we placed each starting unit on a different space node.


Yes, they all start on the same node.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M B
France
FONSORBES
Haute-Garonne
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mechanicalfish wrote:
Mickski wrote:
The rules state :
Quote:
[...] each player
places their Worldship, 1 Starfarer, and 1 Star Sloop on one of the space nodes [...]


Just to be sure, this sentence means that these 3 units start from the very same space node, right ? During our first play, I read this too quickly so we placed each starting unit on a different space node.


Yes, they all start on the same node.

Fine. So, we did it correctly on second play.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie Harr
United States
Louisiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
I thought they all started on different nodes. So you can begin the game attacking one of the other players right away then, if you desire?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Gabbert
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
eddieharr wrote:
I thought they all started on different nodes. So you can begin the game attacking one of the other players right away then, if you desire?


Each player starts with a single group of three units: 1 worldship, 1 starsloop, 1 starfarer. Each player starts with their single group on a different node.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Garnica
United States
West Covina
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mickski wrote:
The rules state :
Quote:
[...] each player
places their Worldship, 1 Starfarer, and 1 Star Sloop on one of the space nodes [...]


Just to be sure, this sentence means that these 3 units start from the very same space node, right ? During our first play, I read this too quick so we placed each starting unit on a different space node.


How is this misinterpretation even possible?!

Starfarers can't be in a non-planet region without a ship of some sort. Also, suppose it was a 5P game and everyone did this; there aren't even enough space nodes!

"Oh yeah, well I'll start on the trade ship. So there!"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M B
France
FONSORBES
Haute-Garonne
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pacman88k wrote:
Mickski wrote:
The rules state :
Quote:
[...] each player
places their Worldship, 1 Starfarer, and 1 Star Sloop on one of the space nodes [...]


Just to be sure, this sentence means that these 3 units start from the very same space node, right ? During our first play, I read this too quick so we placed each starting unit on a different space node.


How is this misinterpretation even possible?!

Starfarers can't be in a non-planet region without a ship of some sort. Also, suppose it was a 5P game and everyone did this; there aren't even enough space nodes!

"Oh yeah, well I'll start on the trade ship. So there!"

In a very easy way : first play with 2 players only, both non-native english-speaking players, furthermore in urge to play the just delivered game !

I'm pretty sure you would have done the same mistake if this same game was totally in french...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.