Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Rising Sun» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on take hostage followed by summon ronin rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Hollywood
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
Hey all. I have a question the take hostage action. Lets say for example player 1 has a single bushi in a province and there will be war with player 2. Player 1 bids all money on summon ronin. Player 2 bids all money on taking hostage. After the screens are revealed player 2 takes the single bushi from player 1 hostage. Does player 1 still get to summon ronin? Or is the fight over with player 2 victorious? Thanks for the help!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Pishnery
United States
Lakewood
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Under Seppuku it says that if someone kills all their figures, they are still part of the battle. Seems like that should apply for hostages, too.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Lewis
United States
West Lafayette
IN
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you're in the province when battle begins, you stay in the battle.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Casey Smith
Switzerland
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sworntothedark wrote:
Hey all. I have a question the take hostage action. Lets say for example player 1 has a single bushi in a province and there will be war with player 2. Player 1 bids all money on summon ronin. Player 2 bids all money on taking hostage. After the screens are revealed player 2 takes the single bushi from player 1 hostage. Does player 1 still get to summon ronin? Or is the fight over with player 2 victorious? Thanks for the help!


Player 1 still gets to use their Ronin.

Which holy shit, makes me realize that you can perform Seppuku and still win a war. That would be a pretty funny outcome.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PK Levine
United States
Rossville
GA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SwissQueso wrote:
Which holy shit, makes me realize that you can perform Seppuku and still win a war. That would be a pretty funny outcome.

Oh yeah, in our sole play so far, that happened twice. Once, the guy with all of the money won Seppuku, Take Hostage, and Summon Ronin, so he died honorably, kidnapped the opponent's monster, summoned a few ronin, and took the dang province. It was insane.

Edit: And yet things were still totally balanced, because all of the money that cost him? His opponent got it, and used it to win the next battle.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grimbolina
Australia
Croydon
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had a two way fight for one province where one player went all in on Seppuku, Take Hostage and Hire Ronin and won those bids. As a result there were no figures left in the province for the battle, which player 1 still won because of his ronin. But then player 2 cashed in on Imperial Poets and repatriations.

It was incredibly fun.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.