Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Breakout: Normandy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules Conflict - Bridge Seizure? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Spicer
United Kingdom
Gerrards Cross,
Bucks
flag msg tools
8.22 states that a unit (armour/ infantry) starting in an area next to a bridge can seize it. Meaning a unit that moves to an area cannot then seize a bridge adjacent to that area.

20.3 is less specific and suggests that a unit can seize a bridge at any time if it's in an area that is Free, which would mean any area you've moved to during that impulse without an enemy unit in it (whether that area that was Free at the start of the turn, or you've just moved a unit in and made it Free).

Which is correct for bridge seizure - only at the start of movement, or at any point during movement?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Wojtaszcyk
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
seizing bridges is anytime and it costs 1MP to do.

The specific order of action is:

1st - Repair bridges out of the area activated if area is owned and free.

2nd - Seize bridges at any point from owned free areas, costing 1MP each and if crossing said seized bridge all units crossing have to spend the 1MP delay.

3rd - Destroy bridges out of the area activated provided one of the adjacent areas (or the area itself) is enemy owned/contested and you own the bridge being destroyed.


So you activate the area you will use. If it is owned and free, you can repair any bridges in that area. Then you can do any bridge seizes and move, assault, continued bridge seizes from any areas you captured that are now owned and free, spending 1MP for each bridge seize. The after all your moving/attacking, seizing is done, the final step is destroying any bridges from your originally activated area. (you can not blow any bridges out of areas you just captured)

So you don't know what bridges might be destroyed before you move units as that step is the last one of an impulse.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Spicer
United Kingdom
Gerrards Cross,
Bucks
flag msg tools
Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.