Subject: Copyright infringement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kristian Benoit
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hi,
I'm thinking of making my own copy of some games, but do not want to infringe copyrights and patents. As an open source developer, I understand patent pretty well, but copyright a little less. I understand copyright about the artwork, but about game concept/ideas? I believe it might infringe copyrights to sell/give copies of games even with different artwork and that it should be all right to create a copy for self usage. But if I post freely SVG that could be printed on Laser cutter or JSCAD that could be 3D printed (through STL), I'm not sure it's fine as it's about the same end result as giving/selling it. At the same time it's about the same as giving a manual to do it yourself in wood on a workbench.

1. I think that as giving instructions on how to create pieces would give a different end result (a file vs a plastic piece), while it could infringe on patent, does not on copyright?

2. I think that even if I'm playing with a self made version of a commercial game publicly, let's say in a tournament, there's no copyright infringement unless I'm using the same artwork and thus is not badly seen?

I'm mostly thinking about sharing a printable version of ZobristCube for now and I believe it's a good publicity for them.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
kbenoit wrote:
Hi,