Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Dragonfire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Climbing Potion and Dual Spec rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dwonne Chon
United States
California
flag msg tools
Hey guys I have been playing for about a month and I have a few questions:

1) How do climbing potions work? Do you get to leave a location? im not sure how that works.

2) dual specing ( being more than one class ).. how exactly does that work? does it cost exp to do or just whatever the feature costs.

3) on the adventure where you start in one of two locations, does the money ( after killing your encounter ) go to the people in the location that the encounter is in only? and if climbing allows you to move locations does the location still do its damage to the person that moved from it or does it move to someone else?

4) does damage have to be applied in the order on the card. for example if javelin does Blk and a colorless does the black have to be applied first or can I use the colorless?

5) on the car spiritual guardian do the tokens keep adding up each time you play the card OR does it just refresh to 4 ( if you skill check )

6) on the black card heroic something ( the card that pulls all encounters to you ) do they all attack that turn?

7) Cloud of daggers, on the card it mentions needing to be arcane to use however if you are a wizard it does something more powerful. all arcane are wizards, so what is the point of that is there something im missing?


sorry about some of my vague descriptions I don't have the cards in front of me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Thompson
United States
Terre Haute
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Black3200 wrote:
1) How do climbing potions work? Do you get to leave a location? im not sure how that works.

2) dual specing ( being more than one class ).. how exactly does that work? does it cost exp to do or just whatever the feature costs.

3) on the adventure where you start in one of two locations, does the money ( after killing your encounter ) go to the people in the location that the encounter is in only? and if climbing allows you to move locations does the location still do its damage to the person that moved from it or does it move to someone else?

4) does damage have to be applied in the order on the card. for example if javelin does Blk and a colorless does the black have to be applied first or can I use the colorless?

5) on the car spiritual guardian do the tokens keep adding up each time you play the card OR does it just refresh to 4 ( if you skill check )

6) on the black card heroic something ( the card that pulls all encounters to you ) do they all attack that turn?

7) Cloud of daggers, on the card it mentions needing to be arcane to use however if you are a wizard it does something more powerful. all arcane are wizards, so what is the point of that is there something im missing?


1) Normally, you can only change locations at the beginning of a turn, so if you move into a location in order to damage it, you cannot leave before your next turn. The Climbing Potion allows you to leave after attacking.

2)You will only dual-class when you need to because of less than 4 players (which is painful), or when you buy a specific feature that says so. Just follow the instructions on the feature.

3) Terror in the Catacombs? The adventure sheet tells you what to do. In short, money is only split between the players in that location. Note that this ONLY applies to that specific adventure.

4) No. The entire card must be applied to a single encounter, but the order of cards and order of symbols on cards don't matter.

5) It continues to accumulate until used.

6) Yes, they do. That's what makes Grapple so good. Or for best results, play a Tower Shield (prevents all encounters in front of you from attacking for one turn) in the same turn.

7) No. In the expansions, Warlocks are Arcane but not Wizards. Also, a fighter with the Eldritch Knight feature is Arcane, but not a Wizard.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dwonne Chon
United States
California
flag msg tools
thank you for the reply, another quick question about moving and locations.

At the beginning of your turn if you decide to move, can you still deal damage? and if you have an encounter facing you can you move? if you can does the encounter move with you?

Also in regards to locations can you attack a location if you are not in it? or can you only use assists? If you are in a location can you attack out of it? or again only assists?

does the location attack everyone in the location simultaneously or only during their turn?

can you use an example when a climbing potion would be beneficial since you can just move?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Thompson
United States
Terre Haute
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Black3200 wrote:
At the beginning of your turn if you decide to move, can you still deal damage? and if you have an encounter facing you can you move? if you can does the encounter move with you?

You can still deal damage, but only as applicable to your new location.
Non-location encounters follow you to your new location.

Quote:
Also in regards to locations can you attack a location if you are not in it? or can you only use assists? If you are in a location can you attack out of it? or again only assists?

Only Assists can attack outside of their location, and even then, only into or out of the central "location" where everyone normally starts - not from location encounter to location encounter.

Quote:
does the location attack everyone in the location simultaneously or only during their turn?

Simultaneously. On the Take Damage step of the player who the location is in front of, the location damages everyone in the location.

Quote:
can you use an example when a climbing potion would be beneficial since you can just move?

It allows you to leave a location after attacking. If you move into a location and attack it but don't kill it, it will hit you at the end of the player that it is actually "assigned" to. The potion allows you to leave at the end of your turn so you don't get hit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Garvens
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
OW!
badge
Suuuuuuuperrrrr!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cthompsonguy wrote:
Black3200 wrote:


4) does damage have to be applied in the order on the card. for example if javelin does Blk and a colorless does the black have to be applied first or can I use the colorless?




4) No. The entire card must be applied to a single encounter, but the order of cards and order of symbols on cards don't matter.



To elaborate a bit further, the damage on a played card does not have to be applied to the encounter in the order it appears. So in the case of javelin you could apply the black or the colorless first.

This damage however must be applied in the order it appears on the encounter, so you must clear the current level before you can apply damage to a level further down. (unless you play a card that specifically states otherwise)

When a card is applied to an encounter, none of the damage carries over to another encounter if it is not used (unless the card specifically states otherwise)

In the case of encounters with tokens, the tokens must be dealt with first but again, the damage does not carry over from one token to the next, or from one token to the encounter. Each token must be cleared individually. Cards like flaming oil, that deal damage to all encounters facing a player, or magic missile, which allow you to deal each of the damage individually are usually great for clearing out tokens quickly.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cthompsonguy wrote:

6) Yes, they do. That's what makes Grapple so good. Or for best results, play a Tower Shield (prevents all encounters in front of you from attacking for one turn) in the same turn.


That is not what Tower Shield does.

Tower Shield played by the Active Player causes all encounters to do 1 less damage than they normally would, but does not prevent the attack.

Tower Shield played as an Assist causes one named encounter to not attack.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Hofland
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mb
On locations and damaging simultaneously, are you sure?

If char 1 is in a location that location will damage char 1 during char 1’s turn. Char 2, also in that locatikn, will get location damage in char 2’s turn.

At least that’s how I played it and understood the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Kindt Dalzen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Jotun wrote:
On locations and damaging simultaneously, are you sure?

If char 1 is in a location that location will damage char 1 during char 1’s turn. Char 2, also in that locatikn, will get location damage in char 2’s turn.

At least that’s how I played it and understood the rules.


Yes. A character in a Location with suffer damage when they are the Active Player. If they are not the Active Player, they will not take damage on that turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dwonne Chon
United States
California
flag msg tools
We ran into this scenario last night and I want to confirm that we did this correctly.

We were playing the body guard adventure and the guy to my left was dealt the SINKHOLE location ( where you discard your hand and the player to your left is pulled into the location ), however the player to the left was dealt another location. So we decided to pull the player to the next left into the sinkhole. ( we didn't want to have a location with no one in it ). So that person also discarded their hand and their encounter was in the location. ( so only assists can be used ). Did we play this right?

Next, in regards to location with multiple people in it... does the location deal its damage to everyone in the location during each DMG phase that has one of the players in it?

also, If someone becomes unconscious and their encounters move to the player to left, do they deal damage again next turn? thus possibly creating a giant snowball?

Finally, when you use a non basic card like Grapple for example, can we deal the damage to one encounter then pull a different encounter or does the effect have to be on the encounter we decide to deal the damage on? and does the damage have to apply to use the ability ( for example if the next item on the damage track is RED can we use grapple on it even tho the black damage wouldn't apply due to the order of the damage track? )

Next Finally, in regards to the non basic card feint. You choose ANY card to deal anywhere on the DMG track? or only the dmg from feint? and if its any card if the dmg dealt is higher than the level you want to apply it to does the damage carry to the next line on the track, thus possibly taking multiple levels from the middle of a damage track.


Fantastic game thank you for the assist
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Black3200 wrote:
We ran into this scenario last night and I want to confirm that we did this correctly.

We were playing the body guard adventure and the guy to my left was dealt the SINKHOLE location ( where you discard your hand and the player to your left is pulled into the location ), however the player to the left was dealt another location. So we decided to pull the player to the next left into the sinkhole. ( we didn't want to have a location with no one in it ). So that person also discarded their hand and their encounter was in the location. ( so only assists can be used ). Did we play this right?


Deck setup for BODYGUARDS has you remove all locations, which would then make it difficult for you to have drawn a Sinkhole.

Barring that - Sinkhole would pull in the facing character and the character to the left. If you are already in a Location and are dealt a Location, the 2nd location is buried and you draw again.

Quote:
Next, in regards to location with multiple people in it... does the location deal its damage to everyone in the location during each DMG phase that has one of the players in it?

Only the Active Player takes damage (barring text effects on encounters that say they also damage the "{type}" character). So if the Active Player is in a Location, they take damage from it. If someone else is in that Location, they will take damage when they are the Active Player.

Quote:
also, If someone becomes unconscious and their encounters move to the player to left, do they deal damage again next turn? thus possibly creating a giant snowball?

Yes. Usually that signifies the end of the game.

Quote:
Finally, when you use a non basic card like Grapple for example, can we deal the damage to one encounter then pull a different encounter or does the effect have to be on the encounter we decide to deal the damage on? and does the damage have to apply to use the ability ( for example if the next item on the damage track is RED can we use grapple on it even tho the black damage wouldn't apply due to the order of the damage track? )

Grapple's text effect happens when you play the card.
Grapples {BLACK} damage occurs during the deal damage phase.
They may be against the same or two different encounters.

Quote:
Next Finally, in regards to the non basic card feint. You choose ANY card to deal anywhere on the DMG track? or only the dmg from feint? and if its any card if the dmg dealt is higher than the level you want to apply it to does the damage carry to the next line on the track, thus possibly taking multiple levels from the middle of a damage track.

Finally x2?
Feint lets you pick any played card to deal 'out of order'. Damage from that card can be applied anywhere on the track.



Consider one question per thread with titles that allow others to search for the answers instead of one long continuous rules clarification thread.

Also consider that others have done so, and that searching the forums might give you answers faster.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dwonne Chon
United States
California
flag msg tools
Thank you for clarification
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.