Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

D-Day Dice» Forums » Rules

Subject: Silver Star + Battle Cry RWB Combo rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
toby
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Silver Star award lets you move two spaces. A Battle Cry RWB lets you ignore requirements to move. If you combo these, do you ignore requirements in both spaces?

Per RAW, I think yes, definitely, but perhaps this wasn't intended/foreseen, and for balance reasons you should only ignore requirements in the first space?
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emmanuel Aquin
Canada
Mont-Saint-Hilaire
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
And D-Day Dice, too!
badge
I'm an "A"vatar.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tobyjason wrote:
The Silver Star award lets you move two spaces. A Battle Cry RWB lets you ignore requirements to move. If you combo these, do you ignore requirements in both spaces?

Per RAW, I think yes, definitely, but perhaps this wasn't intended/foreseen, and for balance reasons you should only ignore requirements in the first space?


That's a pretty good question, and thanks for asking it, it helps me with the phrasing of the cards for the upcoming 2nd ed.

Technically, yes, you can combine a Silver Star with a Battle Cry (or a Whistle). You are the first to point out this exploit (which should have been obvious to me).

I will reword the Silver Star to specifically say that it can't be combined with a Battle Cry, and the Whistle to say that it allows you to Advance ONCE without spending Courage. Otherwise, this combo would allow players to prematurely rush the bunker without having to bother about amassing Courage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
toby
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It was incidental inasmuch as had the courage and dudes needed for one if not both spaces, but I figured I'd ask. Edit: Why not also reword Battle Cry to say it allows you to ignore requirements in the first space you into this turn. Doesn't seem right to forbid the combo altogether, since it's really just the part where you ignore costs in the second space that's unbalanced, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emmanuel Aquin
Canada
Mont-Saint-Hilaire
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
And D-Day Dice, too!
badge
I'm an "A"vatar.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tobyjason wrote:
It was incidental inasmuch as had the courage and dudes needed for one if not both spaces, but I figured I'd ask. Edit: Why not also reword Battle Cry to say it allows you to ignore requirements in the first space you into this turn. Doesn't seem right to forbid the combo altogether, since it's really just the part where you ignore costs in the second space that's unbalanced, right?


I need to reword Silver Star not because of 1st Ed, but because of 2nd Ed, where each color and each Legendary Unit has its own RWB bonus table, including many different Battle Cries, some of which are quite potent. It's much simpler to reword 1 Award than 28 Battle Cries. And the item Whistle will be reworded to say "Advance ONCE without spending Courage" (that's an easy fix).

There will be many more combos in 2nd ed, as it introduces more than 50 Specialists and 72 (!) Items. Don't worry about losing this one
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.