Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In CC if both sides roll under their respective kill number, then the opponent's units are eliminated. I.e. both sides can be eliminated.

What if this happens, and one of the player's rolls was a natural 2?

* Leader generation (potentially) creates a leader who is immediately eliminated (due to the CC resolution result)?

or

* Leader generation (potentially) creates a leader who survives the CC and is now alone in the hex where all other units in the hex were just eliminated?

(And if the leader does survive in the hex, then in the unlikely event both players rolled natural 2 and both sides were eliminated, it would theoretically be possible that CC continues with each player having a new leader in the hex, a leader-vs-leader CC duel?)

---

Related question: a natural 2 does not automatically win CC (if the Kill number is very low, or you have unfavorable modifiers), right? So it could happen that you roll natural 2 but do not eliminate the opponent's units, while the opponent eliminates yours. So a similar question arises: would you (potentially) create a leader who continues the CC in the hex by himself in this case, or you simply create a short-lived leader who died in the CC?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tankboy
United States
Haslet
Texas
flag msg tools
The Game that started it all
badge
I know. It's an Awesome Avatar.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Russ,

Read the last paragraph on the Close Combat Phase Example in the rulebook. If you roll a natural 2, then you roll to see if you Create a new Leader. If so, then the Odds are recalculated, but you use the Original CC Die-roll.
8 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fly by Night wrote:
Read the last paragraph on the Close Combat Phase Example in the rulebook. If you roll a natural 2, then you roll to see if you Create a new Leader. If so, then the Odds are recalculated, but you use the Original CC Die-roll.

Aha, thanks!


(Grrrr at rule info hidden in an example instead of in the rule text itself.) :/
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.