BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: NEW DESIGNER rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Griffen
msg tools
mbmbmb
Evening Gamers,

My name is Ryan and I'm actually a writer wanting to dabble in game design and wanted to reach out the BGG community on where I should start.

Would love links to podcasts, vlogs, fellow designer and publishers that I could start gleaning from.

I'm a huge gamer and this is just another dream I would love to tick off my list.

Cheers
R
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fertessa
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Is there something specific about game design that interests you? There is such a plethora of resources that it may help to funnel your attention towards a particular area rather than bombarding you with general answers.

At the very least, if you want to know how to transition from writing to game design, I would thoroughly read through all the threads pinned in the Board Game Design forum. I would especially look at the crash course in game design.

I also think this is a very enlightening read:

http://www.big-game-theory.com/2014/06/Schools-of-Design.htm...

It discusses different genres of games and their schools of design. It made me look at my choices as a game designer and also the games I like to play, and kind of provide a reasoning as to why I gravitated towards those games. It's not official or anything, but I think it's a good read.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Stockwell
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello Ryan,

Foremost, ask yourself why you want to design a game -- I find the answer usually falls into one of three categories, as follows:

1. To get games published and "out in the world" -- perhaps as a career, perhaps for "bragging rights"
2. To make games for you and your friends to play (and maybe their friends as well)