Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monster Movement Question ?? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nattanon kunanusont
Thailand
Alabama
flag msg tools
Hi, Sorry if this has been asked before.

The situation is like this ;

w w w w w
w m m m w
w T T . w
w . . . w
w . . . w
w . . . w
w . 1 . w
w w w w w

W = wall
m = monster
t = trap
1 = character
. = empty hex

What happened when the monster(in the middle) have the movement of 1. From this flowchart, it seems that the path with free of trap is exist, so that this monster would not move and would stay in place. Is this correct?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Greenfly
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it will stay put. Since a path through its rightmost ally exists, it considers the trap being an obstacle. With the movement of 1, it cannot, however, move to a hex that would make it closer to its focus.

At least it seems to be the case from your drawing. Maybe the result will be different if you show this on actual hexes - they are not aligned column-wise.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

w w w w w
w m m m w
w T T . w
w . . . w
w . . . w
w . . . w
w . 1 . w
w w w w w


W = wall
m = monster
t = trap
1 = character
. = empty hex

I believe this is what the intended map should look like. With a Move 1, the monster in the middle would not go anywhere.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Quillen
United States
Independence
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wouldn't the monster walk through the trap?

Page 31
Monsters without the Flying trait consider negative hexes (traps or hazardous terrain) to be obstacles when determining focus and movement unless movement through one of these hexes is the only way they can focus on a target. In this case, they will use the path moving through the smallest number of negative hexes possible to find a focus and suffer any consequences.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Eckels
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
No, they can focus via the open hex on the far right. So they go along their path, treating the traps like obstacles. Since they only have one movement, they can't make it past their friend and will stay put.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nattanon kunanusont
Thailand
Alabama
flag msg tools
Thank you everyone, this makes perfect sense. But how about there is the 3rd trap added to the rightmost next to the current middle trap, now will the situation changed and the middle monster would move down pass the trap since there is no path with free of trap? So, the flow chart could end in box 7b rather than 7a. Am I right?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
hihihinon wrote:
Thank you everyone, this makes perfect sense. But how about there is the 3rd trap added to the rightmost next to the current middle trap, now will the situation changed and the middle monster would move down pass the trap since there is no path with free of trap? So, the flow chart could end in box 7b rather than 7a. Am I right?

yes, if there was a trap in that location, then there would no longer be any path without traps to reach a target.
So the first monster to act would move onto a trap.
None of the other monsters would move onto a trap, however. Since the first monster would have then cleared a trap and created a trap-free route, and the subsequent monsters would follow that path.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nattanon kunanusont
Thailand
Alabama
flag msg tools
JayJ79 wrote:
hihihinon wrote:
Thank you everyone, this makes perfect sense. But how about there is the 3rd trap added to the rightmost next to the current middle trap, now will the situation changed and the middle monster would move down pass the trap since there is no path with free of trap? So, the flow chart could end in box 7b rather than 7a. Am I right?

yes, if there was a trap in that location, then there would no longer be any path without traps to reach a target.
So the first monster to act would move onto a trap.
None of the other monsters would move onto a trap, however. Since the first monster would have then cleared a trap and created a trap-free route, and the subsequent monsters would follow that path.


Jay, That was a very clear clarification . Unfortunately, I've played this wrong last time
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
hihihinon wrote:
Jay, That was a very clear clarification . Unfortunately, I've played this wrong last time

the monster AI system takes a while to get used to. Everyone makes such mistakes now and then, especially at first. Just use it as a learning experience, keep playing, and have fun
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Quillen
United States
Independence
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Berinor wrote:
No, they can focus via the open hex on the far right. So they go along their path, treating the traps like obstacles. Since they only have one movement, they can't make it past their friend and will stay put.


Thanks, I missed the detail about any possible path.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.