Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Bios: Genesis» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on Hyperparasites during a Promotion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pretentious? Moi?
United States
Pocomoke
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is the following promotion correct, or should Red's Parasite return to the player's tableau?

Before:

Red Hyper < Green Parasite < Red MicroOrganism


After:

Red Parasite < Red MacroOrganism (w/Green Endo)



[H3] states that, "A Hyperparasite becomes a Parasite of the Macroorganism"

However, [E3] is clear that, "The Host must be in the tableau of another player"
& "You cannot attach a Parasite to an Organism in your tableau, only in a foreign tableau."

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Fenton
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
RicochetRita wrote:
Is the following promotion correct, or should Red's Parasite return to the player's tableau?

Before:

Red Hyper < Green Parasite < Red MicroOrganism


After:

Red Parasite < Red MacroOrganism (w/Green Endo)



[H3] states that, "A Hyperparasite becomes a Parasite of the Macroorganism"

However, [E3] is clear that, "The Host must be in the tableau of another player"
& "You cannot attach a Parasite to an Organism in your tableau, only in a foreign tableau."


That's correct. If it ever detached though then you cannot reattach it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Grossman
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's correct because you are not attaching a parasite in this case. it was there already.

Confirmed by the designer here:
https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1764420/what-happens-yo...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pretentious? Moi?
United States
Pocomoke
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick replies.


Thoughts on this situation:
Lack of voluntary detachment [E3] means, Red's parasite is now tied up, along with the biont, unless Red has/gains HGT.

This could be a possible defense against foreign parasites. But Red's parasite will need to mutate Red Queen and steal a couple of (its own) host organs to block supplantation (these diseased organs would still count toward Landfall totals [H4]).

Not sure how this would be an advantage. It would still be better to attach this parasite to another player & spend their catalysts to steal organs/accumulate cubes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Fenton
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
RicochetRita wrote:
Not sure how this would be an advantage. It would still be better to attach this parasite to another player & spend their catalysts to steal organs/accumulate cubes.

You've got a point, but that's the risk of parasiting a parasite. You might have attached it when they were on a different microorganism, but when supplanted they decided to attach to yours (which then promoted to macro).

I'm not sure why you would attach to a parasite that is on your organism since you spend from the pool of the ultimate host, not the parasite owner's.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.