Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Arcadia Quest» Forums » Rules

Subject: HELP...Into & Out of Close Spaces in Same Move [RESOLVED] rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Lopresti
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
OK newbie question...I start my move from a non-close (to a monster) space, move into a close space to pick up 2 items (no monsters in space, but one next to the space), then return to my non-close starting space.

Q: Does this trigger a Guard Reaction?

Thanks for your help all!

MOST humbly & sincerely...Tom
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: HELP...Into & Out of Close Spaces in Same Move
yes
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edu Avalon
Guatemala
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: HELP...Into & Out of Close Spaces in Same Move
When you enter the space close to the monster no. When you leave the space close to the monster yes, even if you leave it to enter the space where the monster is.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lopresti
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Re: HELP...Into & Out of Close Spaces in Same Move
Thank you both so very much!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matheus Affonso
Brazil
Porto Alegre
RS
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
edugon wrote:
When you enter the space close to the monster no. When you leave the space close to the monster yes, even if you leave it to enter the space where the monster is.

This is wrong. Guard Reactions are triggered only when you enter a close space, not when you leave. And every time you enter a space close to any number of monsters, you trigger all the corresponding reactions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Penrose
United States
Derby
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
mdaffonso wrote:
edugon wrote:
When you enter the space close to the monster no. When you leave the space close to the monster yes, even if you leave it to enter the space where the monster is.

This is wrong. Guard Reactions are triggered only when you enter a close space, not when you leave. And every time you enter a space close to any number of monsters, you trigger all the corresponding reactions.


From the rulebook (p. 19):

Quote:
Whenever a Hero that occupies a Space Close to a Monster
moves to another Space, he triggers that Monster’s Guard
Reaction. That causes the Monster to immediately attack the
active Hero with its listed attack attributes and abilities. The
Monster does not move, it only attacks. Entering a Space Close
to a Monster does not trigger its Guard Reaction, it is only triggered
by moving from a Close Space, no matter if the movement
is towards the Monster or away from it.


So, it is only when you exit a space that is Close to a Monster, not when you enter one.
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matheus Affonso
Brazil
Porto Alegre
RS
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bapenrose wrote:
mdaffonso wrote:
edugon wrote:
When you enter the space close to the monster no. When you leave the space close to the monster yes, even if you leave it to enter the space where the monster is.

This is wrong. Guard Reactions are triggered only when you enter a close space, not when you leave. And every time you enter a space close to any number of monsters, you trigger all the corresponding reactions.


From the rulebook (p. 19):

Quote:
Whenever a Hero that occupies a Space Close to a Monster
moves to another Space, he triggers that Monster’s Guard
Reaction. That causes the Monster to immediately attack the
active Hero with its listed attack attributes and abilities. The
Monster does not move, it only attacks. Entering a Space Close
to a Monster does not trigger its Guard Reaction, it is only triggered
by moving from a Close Space, no matter if the movement
is towards the Monster or away from it.


So, it is only when you exit a space that is Close to a Monster, not when you enter one.

For some reason, I was absolutely sure I had read it the other way around. But alas, I stand corrected. Apologies for any confusion caused.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.