Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Clank! In! Space!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Teleporting into security checkpoint still counts as dizzy? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Donovan Thunder
msg tools
If I teleport into a security checkpoint, am I still able to move after?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
donnylicious wrote:
If I teleport into a security checkpoint, am I still able to move after?


You can’t move after teleporting whatsoever, and you can’t move after you enter a security checkpoint, and those don’t cancel out, so... no.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonner Purinton
United States
Long Beach
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You may move. You may not use boots to move.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonner Purinton
United States
Long Beach
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MercifulBiscuit wrote:
donnylicious wrote:
If I teleport into a security checkpoint, am I still able to move after?


You can’t move after teleporting whatsoever, and you can’t move after you enter a security checkpoint, and those don’t cancel out, so... no.


Teleporting does not cause dizziness. Using a Telepad causes dizziness. Using a card to teleport allows for further movement with Boots and other forms of movement. In the OP's example, teleporting into a Security Checkpoint does not make him dizzy. It just limits his movement options. Another teleport card allows movement out of the checkpoint. However, by entering the Security Checkpoint in any way prevents the use of Boots for the remainder of that turn.
Also, after using a Telepad, a player may use a teleport card to further their progress/retreat through the ship. You just can't use Boots after using the Telepad or Hyperlift do to becoming dizzy. A rare situation could occur where a player might use the Hyperlift and a Telepad in the same turn.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabio Fioravanti
Italy
Roma
italy
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the question is on sequence of action.

1) teleport in a checkpoint (I don't use boots)
2) start to use my boots from checkpoint

I think is a valid move

different is if i use my boots to walk in a checkpoint, I have to stop and waste remain boots
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Clautice
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you enter a checkpoint by any means - normal boots or teleporting - you may not use boots for the rest of the turn.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alluvian
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bubbaxis wrote:
I think the question is on sequence of action.

1) teleport in a checkpoint (I don't use boots)
2) start to use my boots from checkpoint

I think is a valid move

different is if i use my boots to walk in a checkpoint, I have to stop and waste remain boots


I disagree, the rules on page 6 are pretty clear that whenever you enter a security checkpoint you cannot use boots for the rest of the turn. It does not matter how you enter the checkpoint.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donovan Thunder
msg tools
Nevermind, guess the question is already answered in the rulebook on pg. 10

"Unlike when using the Telepad or Hyperlift, teleporting does not leave you
dizzy—you can keep moving after a teleport. Remember, however, that on
the turn you enter a security checkpoint (by any means), you can’t use any
Boots for the rest of the turn."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.