Anthony Rubbo
United States
Philadelphia
PA
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Two player game, co-op Return of Kahn:

1) If you kill all but two ships one one turn, and next turn kill just one of the two remaining, do you lose? I.E. do you have to “game” it so that you don’t kill too many at once? Or once you kill the first 2, you’re fine for all subsequent battles?

2) If Kahn initiates an attack, and you wipe out the fleet, do you immediately board, or does it first run away?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Parks
United States
Somerset
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Marvel Strike Teams (2018)
badge
Marvel Strike Teams: November 2018
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) During a 2 player game, when participating in a Cooperative Defense against Khan on the destroyed Borg Cube, you must either destroy two ships OR destroy the last of his fleet (which might just be one ship). For the example you cite, if you kill all but two ships, then during the next Cooperative Defense you must be able to destroy both of those ships.

Alternatively, you can attack Khan when he returns to the space next to you, in which case it doesn't matter if you only destroy one ship. You only lose the game if you don't destroy enough ships while engaged in a Cooperative Defense on the Borg Cube space. And of course, if Khan's fleet has fewer ships than the number of players during a Cooperative Defense, you just have to destroy all of his remaining ships to withstand his attack.

2) You immediately board. He only gets to run away if you haven't subdued him aboard the Pequod during that turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Rubbo
United States
Philadelphia
PA
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Andrew Parks wrote:
1) During a 2 player game, when participating in a Cooperative Defense against Khan on the destroyed Borg Cube, you must either destroy two ships OR destroy the last of his fleet (which might just be one ship). For the example you cite, if you kill all but two ships, then during the next Cooperative Defense you must be able to destroy both of those ships.


Ok. So, yes, it does seem necessary to game it and keep a warbird or two alive, if you know you cannot beat all of the fleet across back to back Cooperative Defenses.

Andrew Parks wrote:
2) You immediately board. He only gets to run away if you haven't subdued him aboard the Pequod during that turn.


Ok. The rules could be interpreted that boarding happens immediately only if the players initiate the assault.

Much thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.