Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Heroes of Normandie» Forums » Rules

Subject: Transporting Vehicle entry and exit rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
A L D A R O N
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
A L D A R O N
badge
----[---->+<]>++.+++++++++++.--------.---.>-[--->+<]>---.---.-.
Avatar
mb
The rules (all versions have roughly the same text) say that
Quote:
...an infantry unit may enter or exit a vehicle at the beginning or the end of the infantry’s movement, from or to any adjacent space.

Does this just mean that
Quote:
...an Infantry unit may enter a Vehicle at the beginning or exit at the end of its Movement, through any adjacent space.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Team Ski
United States
Dover
Delaware
flag msg tools
badge
CHOMP!!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, it just means that you can start your movement in a vehicle or end it in the vehicle. In the end, you cannot continue your movement if you enter the vehicle, the vehicle moves and you want to leave it later that turn. You can't do both in the same movement.

-Ski
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A L D A R O N
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
A L D A R O N
badge
----[---->+<]>++.+++++++++++.--------.---.>-[--->+<]>---.---.-.
Avatar
mb
So: yes.

And perhaps better:
Quote:
...an Infantry unit may start or end its Movement in Vehicle (through any adjacent space).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Mackin
United Kingdom
Shipley
West Yorkshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
You would normally enter a vehicle at the end of your movement (in fact entering a vehicle would end your movement) and exit it at the beginning of your movement (and keep moving). A unit can't enter and exit a vehicle in the same turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A L D A R O N
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
A L D A R O N
badge
----[---->+<]>++.+++++++++++.--------.---.>-[--->+<]>---.---.-.
Avatar
mb
bionikbonce wrote:
You would normally enter a vehicle at the end of your movement (in fact entering a vehicle would end your movement) and exit it at the beginning of your movement (and keep moving). A unit can't enter and exit a vehicle in the same turn.

The question is more about the convoluted wording that what the rule is.

So (again): yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lewis Karl
United States
Vienna
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You will find convoluted wording if using the DPG-produced rules. The unofficial manual rewrite is still the best source for rules. To wit, page 18:

Quote:
Entering and Exiting: At the end of an infantry's movement, it
may enter an adjacent Transport—this requires no movement.
- Remove the infantry from the map while transported.
- At the beginning of an infantry's movement, it may exit a
Transport for no movement.
- An immobilized unit (with zero movement) cannot enter or exit a
Transport.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A L D A R O N
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
A L D A R O N
badge
----[---->+<]>++.+++++++++++.--------.---.>-[--->+<]>---.---.-.
Avatar
mb
pisqueeter wrote:
To wit, page 18...

Not much better. DPG does a decent job, compared with that!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Piotr Cypis Rutkowski
Poland
Gdansk
Pomorskie
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Bumping the thread and adding the question in this subject:

Can units BEGIN the game inside the vehicle?

The question was raised during playing "Out of Gas" scenario -
it became very easy for 'Muricans to get to petrol station,
as well for the Germans to transport all those infantrymen into the action.

I cannot find any direct ruling, but - judging from almanac rule about infiltrating infantry units riding inside infiltrating transport vehicles - it can be done.

Am I right ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.