Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monster attacking summoned ally rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Garvey
United States
Williamsville
New York
flag msg tools
If a summoned ally is the same number of hexes from a monster as the character who summoned it, who does the monster attack?. They both have the same initiative, right?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron S
United States
Ventura
California
flag msg tools
I don't remember what I ate last night
badge
but I can spout off obscure rules to all sorts of game like nobody's business!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
garvoid wrote:
If a summoned ally is the same number of hexes from a monster as the character who summoned it, who does the monster attack?. They both have the same initiative, right?

Thanks!
Since the summon always acts before the character, it gets targeted.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Atlas Shrug

Nevada
msg tools
They would attack your summoned ally as they go before your character every round.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Garvey
United States
Williamsville
New York
flag msg tools
Thanks! No wonder they have such a short lifespan.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John B
United States
Mountain view
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Rulebook, pg 30:

If more than one enemy ties for being the closest, the second priority is to focus on the enemy who is earlier in the initiative order (summons are focused on before the character who summoned them in this regard, even on the round they are summoned....
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
El Guapo
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
johnb4bgg wrote:
Rulebook, pg 30:

If more than one enemy ties for being the closest, the second priority is to focus on the enemy who is earlier in the initiative order (summons are focused on before the character who summoned them in this regard, even on the round they are summoned....


Does this apply in the round it's summoned? The summon doesn't take an action till the next turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Baker
msg tools
cvega wrote:
johnb4bgg wrote:
Rulebook, pg 30:

If more than one enemy ties for being the closest, the second priority is to focus on the enemy who is earlier in the initiative order (summons are focused on before the character who summoned them in this regard, even on the round they are summoned....


Does this apply in the round it's summoned? The summon doesn't take an action till the next turn.


Yes. Summons still are treated as being just before their summoner in the turn order. (In fact, the quote from the rulebook you’re responding to says that directly.)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
El Guapo
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dbaker wrote:
cvega wrote:
johnb4bgg wrote:
Rulebook, pg 30:

If more than one enemy ties for being the closest, the second priority is to focus on the enemy who is earlier in the initiative order (summons are focused on before the character who summoned them in this regard, even on the round they are summoned....


Does this apply in the round it's summoned? The summon doesn't take an action till the next turn.


Yes. Summons still are treated as being just before their summoner in the turn order. (In fact, the quote from the rulebook you’re responding to says that directly.)


Lol..you're right. I glossed right over that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.