Scott D
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ran into a weird situation that I cannot find addressed in the rules. The Dux had a Saxon Foederati cube with Plunder on it from gains in a Battle. During the Epoch Round, does that Plunder count towards Annona or is it separate? Do the Dux need to pay for that Foederati cube? Will the Plunder be transferred to Dux Resources during the Renevue Phase?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Gouyon-Rety
Canada
Laval
QC
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that Plunder counts toward Annona, and the Dux doesn’t need to pay to add a cube toward Annona. In effect, that is the main advantage of allocating Plunder to Foederati: you don’t need to pay later for their Annona :-)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott D
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So that Plunder gets removed during Annona and is not added to Dux Resources later?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Correct. Plunder that gets removed in 6.1 Annona Phase is no longer around to be stowed in 6.6 Upkeep Phase.

As rule 6.1 Annona Phase explains, what you technically do when you pay Annona is to pay Resources to place Plunder cubes from supply on each of your Foederati cubes that doesn't already carry any, and then all that Plunder is transferred to the Barbarians' Renown. If that same Plunder were ALSO transferred to Dux or Civitates Resources in phase 6.6, it would effectively be free to maintain the Foederati...

(Initial sentence edited to better match the phrasing of Scott's question; second paragraph added.)

Regards,
Oerjan
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Gouyon-Rety
Canada
Laval
QC
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Originally, you were simply paying 1 Resource for each Foederati unit that you wanted to keep in your service. Then the possibility for Foederati to get Plunder was added, and meant as a way of providing them Annona.
Since a rule wording saying you had to pay 1 Resource for each unless they were carrying Plunder, and then that the national Faction (Saxons or Scotti) would get the Resources plus the Plunder carried by Foederati (which would be removed, as if "Returned") was very cumbersome and seen as potentially confusing, I turned the payment of Resources into placing a Plunder cube, and then could write the "Return" of Foederati Plunder cubes as a common step...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.