Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Star Trek: Ascendancy» Forums » Rules

Subject: What becomes of Hazardous systems after discovery rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alain Curato
France
Albi
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all

This issue arose in our last game. Can you please help me solve it for next time.

One player discovered a hazardous system and survived, then drew a Virgin World and found it uninteresting.

Therefore he decided to send one of his two ships further, to establish First Contact with a nearby player.

He did not settle the system, just left one ship in it for later.

That gave rise to a question: does a system ever stop being hazardous? with special regards for cases like
- to the player occupying it
- to the player colonizing it
- to a friendly player coming in (ie, Ferengi)
- to an invader

Thank you very much
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mattias Elfström
Sweden
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Simple answer: No
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leon Hahn
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Long answer: Only once you upgrade your shields to a sufficient level
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nico
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I might add to what Leon and Mattias have already said, that ships that are remain stationary at any Hazard do not have to brave said Hazard again (unless they spend a Command in order to do so) and that ships being constructed at such a location don't have to brave the Hazard when they come into play.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alain Curato
France
Albi
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay thank you, that just seemed counterintuitive to us that a player who had already explored or settled a system could not navigate it freely. But since it's the way of the game, and provided that everyone is warned about this...

Taht might be an interesting Advancement someday. Navigational buoys.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trueflight Silverwing
United States
Waverly
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The added bonus that you get being that it is already explored is that you can simply warp past it. Since you don't actually have to stop there anymore, you don't have to brave the hazard unless you want to specifically go there for something.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.