Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Revealing room but not enough of a particular monster type rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bamber Loizou
United Kingdom
Birmingham
Unspecified
flag msg tools
If a room is revealed and during set up you do not have enough monsters of the prescribed type because they are already deployed, what happens? Also, in scenario 2 the boss character unlocks doors in a particular order but some rooms will reveal and the monster type (living corpse) will have already been placed in previously revealed rooms. When some become available do we place this in the revealed (empty) room?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukasz Lacny
Poland
Krakow
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You place as many monsters as you can, starting from the proximity to the door (You don't place new ones if they become available afterwards)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fre kol
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mb
Ze rulebook: "It is possible to run out
of specific types of monster standees when revealing a room. If this happens, place only the standees that are
available, starting with the monsters closest to the revealing character."
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Wheelock
Canada
Woodstock
New Brunswick
flag msg tools
badge
David Malki drew this!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is actually a great (if arguably cheesy) strategy that you can employ on some missions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Allen
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Would you mind putting "spoiler" in the title, since you reveal some info about scenario 2?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Suzanne P
New Zealand
Lower Hutt
Wellington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wait - we have been playing that you just put a stand out and wait for another monster to die so you can then put the correct monster type there as well... have we been making it harder for ourselves by not understanding that correctly?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, probably.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benj Davis
Australia
Summer Hill
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pebblesy wrote:
Wait - we have been playing that you just put a stand out and wait for another monster to die so you can then put the correct monster type there as well... have we been making it harder for ourselves by not understanding that correctly?


Well, yes.
But, if you're getting through anyway, that's more coins, so it could still work out in your favour.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Pebblesy wrote:
Wait - we have been playing that you just put a stand out and wait for another monster to die so you can then put the correct monster type there as well... have we been making it harder for ourselves by not understanding that correctly?

how do you remember which empty stand is which once they start moving around?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JayJ79 wrote:

how do you remember which empty stand is which once they start moving around?


My guess is that they treat it similiar to a spawn and the stand only marks where the monster will show up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Suzanne P
New Zealand
Lower Hutt
Wellington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DeS_Tructive wrote:
JayJ79 wrote:

how do you remember which empty stand is which once they start moving around?


My guess is that they treat it similiar to a spawn and the stand only marks where the monster will show up.


Thankfully we have only ever had one or two extra stands, so they just become 7 and 8 until we can move them to a different number, so not easily is the answer and hence it not working so well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.