Is there a specific order for the die rolls and cube placements at the end of setup or is it a free-for-all?
Rule C3 wrote:
After all vacancies in the Company are filled, players roll one die for each of their remaining starting cubes and place the cube in the resource box corresponding to the die roll.Obviously, 2, 4, 5, and 6 rolls do not involve any decisions. But 1s and 3s do implicate decisions (the Chairman allocates money and the players choose shipyard slots) and those may theoretically be affected by previous placements and also affect subsequent placements or by information about coming placements. (E.g., how much money is there for the company to buy ships? How many shipyards are there and to whom do they belong? How many captains are there going to be next turn? How much money will there be to allocate in all? How many factories will there be? How many officers will there be?)
Shipyard cubes can be placed in the highest empty slot in any column e.g. the “6” slot must be filled in any column before the “5” slot.
For each cube randomly placed in the Court of Directors, the Chairman must immediately allocate £4 from the bank to any of the office treasuries as if it were revenue (G5).
There are several possible procedures. The basic questions are
(1) Are all the dice rolled all at once, or serially?
(2) Are placements done all at once or serially?
(3) If placements and/or dice rolls are done serially, in what player order?
(4) If placements are done in some player order, do the players do all of them before the next acts, or is it one cube at a time?
I apologize if I have missed where this has been addressed or if it simply doesn't matter in practice--I have only done a solo run-through of the early company scenario so far.