Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Enemy readies in upkeep phase - Zoey's Cross timing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Angora Patio
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I need some advise in regards to the timing and 'player window' in the upkeep phase and cannot find a clear answer in the rule book.
Here is the situation:
Zoey Cross is in her play area.
An enemy with 5 health spawns exhausted in Zoey's location, so does not engage (Zoey's ability and the cross don't trigger). She only manages to deal 2 damage; obviously nothing happens in the enemy phase (enemy still exhausted); so now what's exactly the timing in the upkeep phase?
After resetting the 'actions' (flip mini cards) I 'Ready all exhausted cards'. So now the enemy is ready, does it engage right away (or in the next enemy phase?) and if yes, does that trigger both the 'swirly arrow' [reaction trigger] actions on Zoy's investigator card (Gain 1 resource) and Zoey's Cross (exhaust cross, spend 1 resource and deal 1 damage), or do these only trigger in the next enemy phase?
Thanks in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Jacobsen
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
who longs for oolong
badge
You are excrement. You can change yourself into gold.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zwalex wrote:
I 'Ready all exhausted cards'. So now the enemy is ready, does it engage right away (or in the next enemy phase?)


Yes, right away.

Quote:
.. and if yes, does that trigger both the 'swirly arrow' [reaction trigger] actions on Zoy's investigator card (Gain 1 resource) and Zoey's Cross (exhaust cross, spend 1 resource and deal 1 damage)


Yes, they trigger as soon as the triggering condition takes effect.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angora Patio
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, great. Now what about the status of Zoey's Cross?
As it needs to be exhausted to deal the 1 damage and all that happens in the 'Ready all exhausted cards' step, does Zoey's Cross then also get 'readied' right away, in other words comes out of the upkeep phase in a ready state?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Jacobsen
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
who longs for oolong
badge
You are excrement. You can change yourself into gold.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zwalex wrote:
OK, great. Now what about the status of Zoey's Cross?
As it needs to be exhausted to deal the 1 damage and all that happens in the 'Ready all exhausted cards' step, does Zoey's Cross then also get 'readied' right away, in other words comes out of the upkeep phase in a ready state?


Readying is simultaneous. So if it were exhausted, it would ready at the same time as the enemy, and then if you used the ability, it would be exhausted again until the next upkeep phase.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angora Patio
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SJacobsen159 wrote:
Readying is simultaneous. So if it were exhausted, it would ready at the same time as the enemy, and then if you used the ability, it would be exhausted again until the next upkeep phase.

Zoey's Cross was ready, but I don't think it matters in this case.
But what you are saying is that as readying the cards is simultaneous, so as Zoey's Cross reaction triggers and gets exhausted by/after that readying, it can only ready itself the next turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Jacobsen
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
who longs for oolong
badge
You are excrement. You can change yourself into gold.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Readying only happens once, and simultaneously. So when the enemy readies and engages and you trigger and exhaust the Cross, you have to wait a full turn to use it again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.