Dima Tylik
United States
Westborough
MA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
F4a says that the Carnivore must have the same shape as its prey, except Archetypes can be eaten by any shape. Does this mean archetypes can be eaten by other player archetypes?

Also, if a land Carnivore (burrowing, armored or flyer) gets a Diving Bell can it then prey on swimmers that inhabit seas and bloom? Likewise if a swimmer gets stick, stone or net, can it then leave the water and start preying on burrowers, armored or flyers?

I'm pretty sure the answer is yes for both, but after interpreting some other rules incorrectly would greatly appreciate a clarification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Grossman
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Archetypes can eat other archetypes.

From the rules:
"F7b. Diving Bells. The diving bell tool allows you to inhabit
as a Carnivore any Biome with swimming prey. This allows the Carnivore
in inhabit normally uninhabitable (F3c) seas and Offshores. However, the
Diving Bell does not allow an Herbivore to inhabit seas or Offshores."

So the answer to your next question is yes.

As far as swimmers hunting with sticks, the rules do not have mention specifically that this is allowed (unlike using the diving bell). Thematically, in my mind it would seem that the answer is no. With a diving bell, a non-swimmer could live in the sea and use it to hunt prey. On the other hand, swimmers cannot live on land normally. I'm not sure that a stick would help them live there even if it did help them dig up burrowers?

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ragh Gavar
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tylik wrote:
F4a says that the Carnivore must have the same shape as its prey, except Archetypes can be eaten by any shape. Does this mean archetypes can be eaten by other player archetypes?

Yes

tylik wrote:
Also, if a land Carnivore (burrowing, armored or flyer) gets a Diving Bell can it then prey on swimmers that inhabit seas and bloom? Likewise if a swimmer gets stick, stone or net, can it then leave the water and start preying on burrowers, armored or flyers?

Yes in the first instance. With a diving bell, a non-swimmer creeple can occupy the carnivore triangle of a biome with swimmer prey.

A swimmer with tool cannot move to land.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tylik wrote:
F4a says that the Carnivore must have the same shape as its prey, except Archetypes can be eaten by any shape. Does this mean archetypes can be eaten by other player archetypes?

Yes.
Quote:
Also, if a land Carnivore (burrowing, armored or flyer) gets a Diving Bell can it then prey on swimmers that inhabit seas and bloom?

Yes.
Quote:
Likewise if a swimmer gets stick, stone or net, can it then leave the water and start preying on burrowers, armored or flyers?

No, because the Biome is still Uninhabitable to them, and they will become endangered regardless of whether there is suitable prey, unlike the Diving Bell which specifically allows it.

7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dima Tylik
United States
Westborough
MA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you all for quick answers. Helped me a lot
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabian
Switzerland
Bern
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Don‘t forget that swimmers and land creatures can both exist on swamps, so your sticks might be useful there.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.