Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Avec Infini Regret II» Forums » Rules

Subject: A plethora of questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
stephon winsome
United States
Fair Oaks
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hopefully I'll never have to ask another rules question again after this...

3.2.1 -- "This phase [activation] is repeated until all wings have been activated or until both players pass one after the other" Under what conditions would a player pass? A wing under Charge couldn't pass because all units have to end their movement closer to the enemy, yes?

3.2.2 -- Can the inactive player attempt preemption more than against the same active wing? To be clear, suppose the inactive player fails a preemption attempt. Can he then immediately attempt preemption again with another eligible wing?

5.1.3 -- "If an out of command unit becomes shaken or broken, it's order automatically becomes Rally! and remains unchanged (even if the broken unit rallies for example) until it is once again commanded" Is the converse also true? If a shaken or broken unit becomes out of command, does its order become Rally? If so, it seems advantageous to allow them to go out of command? But that sounds counter-intuitive. Oh... an out of command unit under Rally wouldn't activate until the very end of the turn, after whatever wings are normally under Rally are finished. Maybe it makes more sense now?

5.2.1 -- "After a melee, each player must roll 1d10 for each participating commander. On a 9, the commander is eliminated" Even if the head unit doesn't degrade in status? What if the commander is only stacked with a supporting unit? This seems overly harsh. Participating in a melee with a commander who has 0 command value would only be a liability

5.2.2 -- "If the replacement commander is killed (after the death of the wing commander) he is not replaced and all the units of the wing switch to Rally! order on the following turn and until the end of the game. They are no longer commanded and can only move toward their edge of the map (except in an advance after combat). Naturally, they can remain in place, change facing and rally." So a wing without a commander still activates? And they can rally without a commander? I assume they can reaction fire too? Can an artillery unit without a wing commander fire offensively?

6.2 -- "If a friendly unit [under charge orders] is already adjacent to an enemy unit, it cannot move away but can change facing and/or perform offensive fire" Can it move to another hex still adjacent to the same enemy unit? "A unit [under march or rally] already adjacent to the enemy may fire" It's not mentioned but can they move away from the unit too?

6.4 -- "Under a charge order, a commander must move with a unit of his wing unless he is stacked with a unit adjacent to an enemy unit" The commander can't move alone and stack with another unit of his wing?

8.2 -- Only inactive units can perform reaction movement? When a rally attempt triggers reaction movement (or fire), does the reaction take place before or after the rally attempt?

8.3 -- Do cavalry need LoS to attempt interception? The rules don't mention it but it seems like something that'd be required?

10.3 -- Advancing after combat seems to be not so great for the active player as it can trigger multiple reaction fires from the inactive player? ... "Double unit: each hex of this unit acts independently as two simple infantry units" A double unit can fire twice then?

10.5 -- "Defensive fire on cavalry: -1 modifier" But the player aid sheet says "defensive infantry fire on cavalry: -1" Which is it?

11 -- Can shaken units participate in melee? Only broken units are explicitly prohibited but in section 12.2 it says shaken units can only fire defensively
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Lindsay
United States
Soquel
California
flag msg tools
badge
Totally randomly Braxton...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Anima Mundi wrote:
Hopefully I'll never have to ask another rules question again after this...

3.2.1 -- "This phase [activation] is repeated until all wings have been activated or until both players pass one after the other" Under what conditions would a player pass? A wing under Charge couldn't pass because all units have to end their movement closer to the enemy, yes?
Yes, you are correct about a wing under a Charge order, they could NOT pass. Wings under March or Rally COULD pass.
Anima Mundi wrote:

3.2.2 -- Can the inactive player attempt preemption more than against the same active wing? To be clear, suppose the inactive player fails a preemption attempt. Can he then immediately attempt preemption again with another eligible wing?
No. One Preemption attempt per new activation.
Anima Mundi wrote:

5.1.3 -- "If an out of command unit becomes shaken or broken, it's order automatically becomes Rally! and remains unchanged (even if the broken unit rallies for example) until it is once again commanded" Is the converse also true? If a shaken or broken unit becomes out of command, does its order become Rally? If so, it seems advantageous to allow them to go out of command? But that sounds counter-intuitive. Oh... an out of command unit under Rally wouldn't activate until the very end of the turn, after whatever wings are normally under Rally are finished. Maybe it makes more sense now?
Yes, an out of command unit that is already shaken or broken would change to rally. They time it would take to let a unit get our of command, rally, and then move them into command wouldn't make it that advantageous since units out of command is always a disadvantage.
Anima Mundi wrote:

5.2.1 -- "After a melee, each player must roll 1d10 for each participating commander. On a 9, the commander is eliminated" Even if the head unit doesn't degrade in status? What if the commander is only stacked with a supporting unit? This seems overly harsh. Participating in a melee with a commander who has 0 command value would only be a liability
Since commanders generally led from the front during this era in warfare, it was not uncommon for them to die leading a charge. This combat was indeed "shock" combat (hand to hand), which could easily lead to a commander getting killed even if the unit he was with didn't waiver.
Anima Mundi wrote:

5.2.2 -- "If the replacement commander is killed (after the death of the wing commander) he is not replaced and all the units of the wing switch to Rally! order on the following turn and until the end of the game. They are no longer commanded and can only move toward their edge of the map (except in an advance after combat). Naturally, they can remain in place, change facing and rally." So a wing without a commander still activates? And they can rally without a commander? I assume they can reaction fire too? Can an artillery unit without a wing commander fire offensively?
Yes, and all the units are out of command. Yes, they can rally themselves with a morale check, but can't ever change out of Rally orders.
Anima Mundi wrote:

6.2 -- "If a friendly unit [under charge orders] is already adjacent to an enemy unit, it cannot move away but can change facing and/or perform offensive fire" Can it move to another hex still adjacent to the same enemy unit? "A unit [under march or rally] already adjacent to the enemy may fire" It's not mentioned but can they move away from the unit too?
No, it cannot move to another hex adjacent to the same unit. It is not addressed in the rules for March/Rally units. I have always played that a unit could move away in march/rally, IF and ONLY IF they are not in the frontal hexes of the adjacent unit.
Anima Mundi wrote:
6.4 -- "Under a charge order, a commander must move with a unit of his wing unless he is stacked with a unit adjacent to an enemy unit" The commander can't move alone and stack with another unit of his wing?
Yes he can. IF he ends his movement stacked with another units from HIS WING.
Anima Mundi wrote:

8.2 -- Only inactive units can perform reaction movement? When a rally attempt triggers reaction movement (or fire), does the reaction take place before or after the rally attempt?
AFTER the rally attempt. The completed action triggers the response.
Anima Mundi wrote:

8.3 -- Do cavalry need LoS to attempt interception? The rules don't mention it but it seems like something that'd be required?
YES
Anima Mundi wrote:

10.3 -- Advancing after combat seems to be not so great for the active player as it can trigger multiple reaction fires from the inactive player? ... "Double unit: each hex of this unit acts independently as two simple infantry units" A double unit can fire twice then?
YES
Anima Mundi wrote:

10.5 -- "Defensive fire on cavalry: -1 modifier" But the player aid sheet says "defensive infantry fire on cavalry: -1" Which is it?

It is INFANTRY fire. Artillery would not be affected.
Anima Mundi wrote:

11 -- Can shaken units participate in melee? Only broken units are explicitly prohibited but in section 12.2 it says shaken units can only fire defensively
Yes, they can. They can't use offensive fire (per 10.3).

Hope these answer help clear things up for you. Have fun with the game.
5 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
stephon winsome
United States
Fair Oaks
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks so much for the answers. In some ways I find the full musket & pike rules to be more accessible; while there's more to learn and more complexity it also leaves fewer ambiguous situations
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Lindsay
United States
Soquel
California
flag msg tools
badge
Totally randomly Braxton...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Anima Mundi wrote:
Thanks so much for the answers. In some ways I find the full musket & pike rules to be more accessible; while there's more to learn and more complexity it also leaves fewer ambiguous situations


I completely agree. Musket & Pike is easier to grok.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.