Sky Zero
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Are passives discarded or deactivated after creature duels in a campaign or do they persist? Example: I play crowmage and win the duel in the campaign. Where does crowmage go after? Couldn't find it in the rulebook.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Gibson
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
skyzero wrote:
Are passives discarded or deactivated after creature duels in a campaign or do they persist? Example: I play crowmage and win the duel in the campaign. Where does crowmage go after? Couldn't find it in the rulebook.


Depends on the passive. As for Crowmage:

Skill cards that say “keep this card in your passive space” begin the game in the passive space of your player space, and do not count towards your hand or stash. Passive cards that do not say “keep this card in your passive space” are kept in your hand (or stash) and specify in the FX when they can be activated. - PG. 16 in the 4th Edition Rulebook.

Crowmage says "place" instead of keep, but they are interchangeable.

So, Crowmage is ALWAYS in your passive space (and counting towards your total passive space size) unless you stick it in your stash. At the end of the duel (aftermath phase), you would flip it to the non-crowmage side, as per the card's stipulations.

Hope this helps!



2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Gibson
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, PG. 9 of the rulebook:

Passive Space

Passive type skills serve a multitude of functions, and can be used at different points throughout the game. The card itself will direct players how and when to use the skill. In general, there are two types of passive skills: those that stay out on the board, and those that remain in your hand. Passive skills that stay out on the board will say “keep this card in your passive space.”

Unless otherwise stipulated, players who have this type of skill begin the duel with the card face up in front of them, and it remains readily available throughout the battle. Otherwise, the passive cards are kept in your hand until the instructions on the card indicate that the passive skill may be played.

Note: During the Versus Duel, there is no limit to the number of passive cards you can have in your passive space at a time. However, when beginning a Tall Tale, players may only have one card in their passive space, but may spend progress points to increase their passive space limit. See “Progress Tracker” on pg. 23.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sky Zero
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fantastic...thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aleph Bias
msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh, wow. "Play" being the same as "Keep" changes quite a number of cards! Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.